We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you don't care about service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Victoire

Pierre Victoire
9 Little Clarendon Street | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2HP, England
+44 1865 316616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 473 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Only if you don't care about service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The food is AMAZING! and they know this but the service is definitely horrible. We asked if they could warm up the bread, the waitress immediately refused without hesitation saying "NO, the kitchen is busy, we can't". She wasn't even polite about it. It took a long time for us to get a glass of water. They rarely came by to check on us ... We tried so hard to flag someone just to get some water or another glass of wine with our meals. Sadly, I'd go back because the food is pretty good and fresh. The interior is very "homey". If you really care about service though, definitely don't bother! It was such a disappointment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    288
    59
    20
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“the best French restaurant in Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I love this place. The food is authentic and fantastic; the wine cellar very good; the service exceptional (it's a family-owned restaurant); and it's extremely well-priced (among other things, they have a prix fixe every evening except Fri and Sat). I eat here once a week, and it never fails to be a pleasant experience.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

You do need to book here to ensure you get a table, especially weekends, but its worth it and every time I have eaten here its always been really good. Snails good and steak great. The staff always do their best and serve with a smile and the price is reasonable for the standard of food.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I booked the restaurant in advance for our trip to Oxford. The service was excellent and the food was very tasty. Knocked one point off as it wasn't exceptional but would definitely eat here again. Great atmosphere!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were in Oxford end September and went to Pierre Victoire for dinner. It was great- we did make a reservation to get a table - just as well as the place was packed ,which added to the buzz around.Staff courteous , friendly and managed not to take long getting our steaks to us in spite of being full. We both had the prix fixe menu. Steak were cooked just right.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Victoire also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Pierre Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.