We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pierre Victoire

Pierre Victoire
9 Little Clarendon Street | Jericho, Oxford OX1 2HP, England
+44 1865 316616
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Highworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We try not to overeat, or over-drink, so it is always a great treat to have a limited menu which is inexpensive and not too large in portion size. If you don't mind eating outside the rush times, the pre/post theatre set menu is ideal. 2 courses coffee and bottle of wine for 2 all for under £40 incl the tip. Many thanks

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    250
    49
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best casual restaurant in Oxford, hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Ate there for the second time last week with family, and it's confirmed my view that this is the best place to eat in this price range in Oxford; the prix fixé lunch menu is especially good value.
The atmosphere is relaxed and informal but civilised, and this being North Oxford, there's always interesting snatches of conversation to be overheard from the neighbouring tables!

Food is classic French bistro fare, mixed with some more general Modern European influences; a lot of it is fairly simple stuff, but what marks this place out from the competition is that the menu varies according to the season and what ingredients are available, and everything's cooked with care and attention from fresh produce. In that respect it's definitely a cut above the high street chain restaurants which are often the only alternative if you want to eat a meal in this price bracket with no reservation.

I travel to France fairly regularly, and this is one of the very few places I've eaten at in the UK where I've had French food resembling the better restaurants I've experienced across the Channel; in fact, it's actually better than a lot of mid-priced, bistro type restaurants in France, far too many of which sadly seem to serve up factory-prepared starters, generic frozen vegetables and the same packet sauce on every meat dish.

Service is definitely 'European-style' (i.e. polite and competent but not overly chatty or in-your-face), which I generally tend to prefer, though can see that this isn't necessarily so for everyone.

Only slight issue with the menu is that not all of the main courses come with potatoes and/or vegetables (although some do), meaning that sometimes these have to be ordered at extra cost: it's possible to alleviate this to an extent by ordering a salad as a starter, or just forgoing healthy-eating worries for an evening out, but again can see how this might be a worry for some people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited in December for a pre-Christmas meal (fixed menu). Very busy but food excellent and staff very attentive. It was a little noisy with much conversation going on but this was due to the fact there were three large parties in the upstairs room where we were situated.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Works night out, great atmosphere. Staff were very quick and friendly. Overall great time had by all and very tasty but well priced food and drink! Will be going again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a table for new years eve after reading excellent reviews on tripadvisor. At the time of booking the table they had not put together their menu for the evening but they advised us it would be approximately £40 per person and the menu would be put on their website once it was completed. We became concerned when it did not appear online, I called them as we are not local and they informed us it was a 4 course meal priced at £35. And what a wonderful meal it was! The food was cooked & presented beautifully, even though the restaurant was fully booked the staff were helpful & attentive at all times. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pierre Victoire also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Pierre Victoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pierre Victoire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.