We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good/Average Indian - Not disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
204-206 Banbury Road, Summertown, Oxford OX2 7BY, England
+44 (0)1865 512211/302978
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #305 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Oldham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good/Average Indian - Not disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a pleasant, clean restaurant with good service and nice food. Everything was OK, but not much more. My curry was fine but not exciting. It could have been made weeks ago and then re-heated. I could do better myself, but it was quite reasonable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst takeaway EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

That was horrible. The 'veg methi' was a bland, greasy mush probably cooked several days ago. The 'lamb pathia' was over spiced to the point of being inedible, we suspect to mask the appaling quality of meat in the dish. The 'pilau rice' was just plain rice with yellow colouring. It also took an hour and a half to be delivered and the delivery man had no change so we were forced to over pay for this vile disapointment! We were really hungry but couldn't eat more than half of it due to it being so very disgusting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent service and great Indian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I've lived in Oxford all my life and love Indian food but haven't ever tried saffron. The service upon arrival was warm and very friendly. The food was very well presented with different flavours. I would recommend saffron to anyone who loves real Indian food!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The contemporary décor and attentive service made this a very pleasant visit. Being something of a curry 'expert' I am always concerned that the food will be up to scratch, but no worries on that score. It was excellent. Very happy to recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great authentic Indian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great authentic Indian cuisine, particularly for vegetarians. Service can be chaotic but overall excellent value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.