We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable evening in lovely surrounding.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gee's Restaurant

Gee's Restaurant
61 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6PE, England
+44 (0)1865 553540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 471 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our 2013 transformation remains loyal to Gee’s traditions of providing quality food & service in the most beautiful restaurant in Oxford. Whether flooded with mid-morning sunlight or under Oxford’s evening sky, Gee’s is the place to enjoy exceptional food in unique surroundings. The tables on the outdoor terrace are surrounded by the dense foliage of topiary & potted plants – & if you like the plants, some are available for sale. The new interior is filled with trees, new furniture, soft colours & lighting.Of course the important aspect of the new Gee’s is the cooking. A brand new kitchen incorporates a wood fired oven & a charcoal grill; food acknowledges the continued interest in the origin of ingredients, seasonality & the variety & abundance of local Oxfordshire produce.Gee’s remains the place in Oxford to enjoy a fabulous meal. There are dishes for sharing & dishes in two sizes to suit different appetites & times of the day. Expect great food to suit every occasion, served by knowledgeable & friendly waiters, in this beautiful, iconic glasshouse in North Oxford.
London, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening in lovely surrounding.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We started the Evening with cocktails and was expecting the traditional martini glasses however they were long cocktails and very nice. We were asked if we would like water which I appreciated. As a vegetarian I chose the goose egg and asparagus (starter) accompanied by jersey royal potatoes and had it as a main. The egg and asparagus was cooked to perfection. The house rose' was delicious. My sister had the burger which was offered from rare to well done, this because the steak was minced there. The fish ordered by my other sister was supposed to be with fennel but she asked for asparagus which was not a problem the deserts are also great as was the Tia Maria coffee. The staff were helpful and friendly and the surroundings in the large conservatory made for a very pleasant evening. I would recommend you book, however we went and were given the last available table.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    147
    85
    60
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Good Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Had a lovely meal here tonight. The cocktails were great. We were served by a lovely Spanish waiter who was very attentive. The deserts were a bit rubbish, one blob of ice cream and a splash of sherry and a forgettable triffle. Nice coffee and a very nice evening all the same.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Bland and boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have celebrated many birthdays and special events before the refurbishment, and really enjoyed the high end style of the restaurant, This was our first and last visit since they have moved to a cheaper level of clients. It has been totally ruined. The food as my title states is now bland and boring and unimaginative, with some items being labelled as something they are not. ie the purple sprouting broccoli, which most definitely was not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I have been lucky enough to eat in Gee's four times since the refurbishment and each time the food has been excellent, very well priced and the service very attentive. It has a lovely feel to it... I have eaten with girlfriends, dined solo and eaten with a large family group (including children!) and each time it has been a huge success. It is now my place of choice in Oxford.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I’d never been here before and have always longed to!

We went on a friday night, and here’s a summary of the good:

1) Really attentive waiting staff and maitre d – with the exception of one rather haughty male waiter.
2) Beautiful setting
3) Nice food – but not outstanding
4) FAB atmosphere when the restaurant is full (about 8pm onwards on the night we were there).

And the bad:

1) Some of the tables are squeezed together. We were virtually sitting on top of another couple, which was not ideal at all. I saw another couple in the same situation, wedged by a huge table of about 15 people. Not great.

2)Expensive! I paid £5 for my starter of broccoli and hollandaise and my husband paid £11 for THREE (YES, THREE) Scallops! And those scallops weren’t particularly nice! As other reviewers point out, portions are pretty small too.

3) TERRIBLE atmosphere before 8pm when the restaurant is quiet. Bearing in mind that we had oddly been seated nearly on top of another couple (in a virtually empty restaurant) this was even more painful!


Overall, a nice but odd experience. I would go back, but would definitely go for a light lunch and enjoy the amazing setting, instead of trying to enjoy an ‘OK’ but expensive supper.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gee's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.