We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merits a second time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cibo!

Cibo!
4 South Parade, Summertown, Oxford OX2 7JL, England
+44 (0) 1865 292 321
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #157 of 493 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Merits a second time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very friendly staff and all in all good food. I had the calamari and risotto selvatici. The former had a flavourful batter, but unfortunately lacked the crunch I was looking for. The risotto selvatici didn't have any taste of truffle as was written in the menu, and seasoning was a bit overdone - too peppery and a bit too salty (I guess it was the stock). However, it is evident that the ingredients used were very fresh, and the texture of the risotto was very well done. My friend had a canelloni with funghi - THAT was very delicious. Cibo! is has a nice environ and I like the vibe it carries - I'd like to give it a second try and have the steak and maybe a pizza - they sound more promising than what I had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Disappointing, and very slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Cibo should be a great local restaurant. It has a nice, airy room, a good position in Summertown, and the kitchen is open plan. But the food and service are rather disappointing. The pizzas are not as good as chain restaurant equivalents, with skimpy toppings and tough, chewy crusts. The salads one night this week were really a disgrace: worn out leaves, an acidic, unpleasant dressing. The prawn and veg tempura was just horrible: greasy, with miserable little shrimps, and an excess of batter. You can do much better nearby.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous steak...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Called in for an early dinner with my 2 13yr olds..... My son ordered the rib-eye steak with bacon & mushroom sauce served with French fries...... Absolutely fabulous, very generous portion, full of flavour and melt in the mouth....... Too many French fries for him to finish (a first!!) my daughter had the bream with squid ink risotto - beautifully presented and delicious, I had a starter portion of mushroom risotto which was good - (though prefer it a little more creamy if I was being picky)
I had a glass of Viognier and my son had fresh orange with a splash of lemonade, £2.99 which he loved my daughter apple juice, which was not the best quality and at £1.99 could have been better... But generally, a lovely quick dinner with good service...... Thanks x

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab food, friendly staff, great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommend this great gem of a restaurant. Beautifully presented and a taste to match. Will definitely be going back. For a taste of real Italy, this is it!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great! Best place in summertown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Love everything about the place. Great service and food. No need for a long review as everything is excellent. 10 minute walk from my house!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cibo! also viewed

 

Been to Cibo!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cibo!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.