We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English, anyone?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quod Brasserie & Bar

Quod Brasserie & Bar
92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BJ, England
+44 (0)1865 202505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 483 restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $14 - $38
Cuisines: English, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert, Private Dining
Description: In an old bank building on the High Street, Quod Brasserie & Bar in Oxford is a contemporary city centre restaurant. From hearty meat dishes and pizzas to afternoon tea and high quality set lunches, Quod has something for everyone throughout the day, and its heated terrace provides a great spot for al fresco dining in this historic city.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“English, anyone?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

They say one remembers the service rather than the food. Although the following happened to the person sitting next to me, it illustrates the sort of restaurant Quod is about.
Asked by the waiter if all was all right (obligatory question, these days, like cutlery and napkins on the table: the staff hardly expects a response from their customers), the man asked for bread. "Bread" was all he said at his second and third attempts. And "bread" was finally understood at his fourth. Now, even with an American accent, bread is not an out-of-place word as a request in a restaurant, is it?
Un-pc to mention that, in the hospitality industry, you sometimes can hardly communicate with the staff because they simply don;t speak English? I don't think so: it has become so common place these days and we shouldn't accept it. It simply shows the contempt and the ignorance restaurant owners have for their paying customers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    150
    184
    124
    52
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice cream tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I stopped here for afternoon tea after walking around some of the sites of Oxford.

We both went for the light tea.

The service and food were fine, I guess it is hard to get a cream tea wrong..

My only points would be that I was a bit surprised by the lack of choice when it came to tea. I like Assam tea and there wasn't any on the menu.

The scones could also have been a tad bigger and with a bit more fruit.

Other than this it was very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cocktails great, food poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Arrived at the bar where the service and the cocktails were great. Really friendly and a superb Caipirhina, oh and some very good salted almonds "on the house" - nice touch!

However the "chicken chasseur" style main course was for me inedible and the sponge pud not much better. I hardly ate anything. Good filtered coffee though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food friendly service pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was a welcome stop after a hot day sight-seeing and the water feature provided a cool atmosphere . Friendly staff and good food. There is a special menu until 7pm-try the fish soup!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“1st class service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The food is not the best and the drinks are a bit pricey but this is my favorite restaurant in Oxford. The staff and service are excellent and it has a really nice ambiance. You get a good mixture of old and young its a great place to people watch and take in the atmosphere of Oxford.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quod Brasserie & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Quod Brasserie & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quod Brasserie & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.