We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keble College

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keble College
Save
You added Keble College to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kurow
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed in the older part of the college overlooking the Quad. the en suite room was spotless, well-equipped, and most comfortable. The atmosphere in the college is relaxed and steeped in history. Breakfast in the Great Hall, sitting at High Table, was an experience in itself. An army of waiting staff kept the table clear, the food was perfect and as much as we could eat! we stayed three nights, for less than any hotel, and i have to say this was the best overall experience i have had. The only slight disappointment was that there was no service during our time in the wonderful Chapel, as it was an out-of-term stay.

Room Tip: Don't skimp on the room choice - go for a room overlooking the Quad. worth the few pounds extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    56
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
31
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night, in double rooms in the older part of the college, overlooking the quad. Pretty spartan rooms (but student accommodation, so pretty much as expected), but all very clean and with a nice pack of toiletries.

BUT trying to get to sleep was virtuallly impossible. From 11.30 until what felt like about 4am, a succession of party goers returned to their rooms, shouting, screaming, banging fire doors, with every sound reverberating around the quad. There should be notices everywhere asking for a bit of consideration - at one stage, I witnessed what looked like a scene from a particularly bad episode of East Enders. So go by all means, but take earplugs and possibly avoid Saturday nights.

Breakfast was pretty amazing, sitting in a vast Hogwarts-esque dining hall. Copious quantities of food and coffee, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cornwall, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked at Keble on the recommendation of someone in the know, when I was up for the Oxford Proms. Love the atmosphere; I was lucky to get a room in the older section and the feeling of the layers of its history added to the enjoyment. I liked the way everyone was polite, you were greeted and shown to your room, any questions were helpfully answered, and the dining hall at breakfast was out of this world. Room was clean, bigger than I expected, and just what I wanted - I dislike paying for unnecessary extras, so this suited me fine. Bed was comfortable, and by the end of the third day I was wistfully wishing I were a student staying for longer than just a few days. I won't hesitate to stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good central place to stay that gives you value for every penny.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can for the chance to stay in the older, more atmospheric rooms. Mine was right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a friends hen do. Gorgeous setting so convenient for everything. We were slightly disappointed to be I the more modern block, the arco building, but then they must just be the cheaper room allocations. Friendly porters, breakfast range was excellent, comfy clean rooms, nothing fancy as obviously they are student sets, but everything you'd need. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Delightful venue and most enjoyable stay. Peaceful, ideally placed for the town and sightseeing literally just out of the front door of the college. Our rooms were beautifully clean, the bedding just right, crisp white sheets and pillowcases, also soft white towels. We were a Full welcome tray with selection of teas, coffee, mineral water and delicious sealed packed cookies. Restful venue not a sound at night, also good quality blackout curtains so you get a good sleep! It was wonderful to be able to experience a taste of life at an Oxford college. Desk staff extremely helpful. The rooms we had were lovely. Night porter should you need anything overnight; dining room staff were warm and welcoming. Would have liked to have stayed longer. We stayed in the modern annexe building which in terms of the historical atmosphere is obviously not quite the same as the rest of the college. All in all, ideal for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As always book as early as you can so you get choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The rooms are basic college rooms but spotlessly clean and comfortable with beds made every morning and fresh towels and toiletries every day. Breakfast is served in the long dining hall which is right out of Harry Potter with a very good choice of hot or continental breakfast. Staff are really helpful and welcoming. If you have the chance to have dinner in the halls then take up the opportunity. You get the chance to dine in candlelight at the top table. My daughter's room had a wall of glass overlooking the historic buildings - very inspiring. If you have children then this is a really good place to stay - so central for all the places to visit (only a few minutes walk away) and they will love the tradition and comfortable history of the college. I can only recommend staying here and I will certainly be back. This is an amazing place to stay and we have wonderful memories of a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

From arrival we were treated as valued guests by all the Keble staff - and there were plenty of them. The beautiful location was peaceful and atmospheric; Inspector Morse could have appeared round a corner at any time!

Rooms (superior singles with en suite and quad view) were spotless, roomier than expected and well-provisioned - full range of toiletries and tea/coffee.

We opted to dine in the Hall, which was great - no choice of menu but what we had was of a high standard and plentiful. This occasion gave us the opportunity to chat with fellow guests from around the world in unique surroundings. Breakfast was also in the Hall; hot and cold buffet with a good choice.

Staying at Keble College was a result of our small group wanting centrally-located accommodation at a reasonable price. Both of these aims were achieved, but we were all very impressed with every aspect of this stay. Warmly recommended to visitors from UK or overseas (probably not ideal for children, though).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Keble College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keble College

Address: Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Keble College 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keble College, founded in 1870, is one of Oxfords architectural landmarks located in the heart of the City.Venture behind the college walls and stay as a bed and breakfast guest at Keble. Discover stunning tranquil quads and inspiring architecture whilst staying in a comfortable study bedroom.All bedrooms include tea and coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries, card operated telephones and free internet access points. Bedrooms are serviced daily. To complete your college experience, relax and enjoy a cooked or continental breakfast served in our magnificent Gothic dining hall, the longest Hall in Oxford, before setting off to explore Oxford. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keble College Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keble College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.