We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As wonderful as ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Blanc

Brasserie Blanc
71 - 72 Walton Street, Oxford OX2 6AG, England
01865 510 999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $17 - $62
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Brighton le Sands, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“As wonderful as ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We visited here for my fathers birthday. We hadn't visited in a while and the menus had changed which was nice. The service was as wonderful as ever, attentive and fast without being intrusive. We had the charcuterie platter and mixed salads to share to start, these were fresh and delicious. For main 3 had burgers which were great, these were a new addition to the menu. The waiter then brought out my dads cake complete with candles which was lovely. Then for dessert was a bricoche bread and butter pudding which was sublime. Coffee was also spot on. A fabulous dining experience for not much more than you would pay at a standard chain restaurant. So much worth spending a little more for superior food and wonderful attentive service. My father very much enjoyed his birthday meal I'm sure we will be returning soon!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    166
    89
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A superior dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A very good restaurant. It fills quickly, so book early but the food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. A dessert was badly delayed due to a large party already present, so that was taken off the bill. We ended up buying the chef's book, even!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband are big fans of Raymond Blanc so we were already sold before visiting the Restaurant. The food is good, they cater for gluten free diets which is always appreciable when you are coeliac! We went there on a Saturday night, very good atmosphere but we had to sit in the back room of the restaurant where the atmosphere was different..Overall a very good experience, we went back the day after and the service was way better. I recommend it and can’t wait to go back there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sunday visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We've visited the restaurant this Sunday 18 may 2014 - the service was ok nothing to complain about - but the food was definitely overpriced. They think that still water is the same as mineral for some reason? We've asked to change potato mash because of it's foul taste. It was replaced with "baby potato" which was a baby probably half a year ago. Strange cod taste as well. Though the bill was quite high. Not recommended - never again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We were looking forward to our dinner here as we were great fans of Raymond Blanc's TV cookery programmes and had had a very good meal previously at his Manoir aux Quatre Saisons. However, we had several problems with our dinner here;
1. Our starters were served on badly chipped plates - when we complained about this, we were told "we're waiting for a delivery of new plates".
2. We ordered a bottle of Merlot. When it arrived, there was no indication on the bottle that this was Merlot - in fact the bottle was marked House White. The wine did not taste like Merlot.
3. The quality of one of the starters - a selection of salads - was very poor, not even up to the standard you would expect to be served at a kitchen supper at a friend's house.
4. Our main courses (burgers) were served almost cold, with no obvious seasoning.
We complained about these problems, and in fairness the restaurant did not charge us for the main courses. However, for the price charged, we feel that this restaurant has a long way to go before it reaches an acceptable standard.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Blanc also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Blanc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.