We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent way to see Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Spectre's Ghost Trails

Bill Spectre's Ghost Trails
Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1, England
+44 7941 041811
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: NOT just any old Oxford ghost tour - BILL SPECTRE cordially invites you to join him on his AWARD WINNING THEATRICAL TOUR of Oxford's ghosts. Illustrated with props and illusions your costumed guide will entertain and horrify you through the streets of one of the most historical and haunted cities in Britain. On Fridays and Saturdays meet him outside the gift shop of Oxford Castle Unlocked at 6.30pm, or directly outside The Visitor Information Centre on Broad Street at 6.55pm. Group bookings at other times available in Oxford, Burford, Woodstock and Stratford on Avon.
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We live locally but still found that Bill Specre's ghost walk around Oxford put a wonderful spin on a walk around some familiar landmarks. Well recommended; Bill's theatrical explanations are well worth the money.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    33
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ghostly stories in Oxford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Short foray into the darker side of Oxfords streets .Great fun, very interactive Took me to parts of Oxford I would not have seen and Bill was very informative as well as funny . Worth the money

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A brilliant theatrical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Despite it being a very cold night, Bill managed to keep us (3 adults, 5 children aged 7 to 12) entertained for around an hour (we joined the shorter version at the top of Broad Street). A mix of old ham and conjuring tricks kept our youngest entranced and gave the cynical older kids something to laugh at and cry 'fake' at.
We've lived in Oxford for over 12 years and took some visiting friends on the tour. Even we learned some things about our home town, although we're still not certain all the stories were true!
A great entertainer, with lots of time for the kids. Great value for money.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Day Out In Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I spent a fabulous day out in Oxford recently and just had to finish off the day by going on "Bill Spectre's Ghost Trail. He arrived in his top hat and dark overcoat and spoke to us in his stern spooky voice and told us the history of the goal from where we were to start the walk. He told us of the deaths that had happened around the city and had our group in hysterics with his tricks and jokes as we went from point to point around the city. It was a cold night but we did not notice this when three of the group had to do a "Charge of the Light Brigade" through the back allies around Kings collage. This is a must for any one who likes a bit of history and gore and will finish the day off ready for a pint or two or a meal in the many pubs. May I suggest O' Neil's or Bella Italia as both are first class and just a few minutes walk from where our walk came to an end. Marks of of ten must be TEN.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a couple of hours in Oxford ... in the dark!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Not too long - and with plenty of interesting facts. Very well presented indeed - very entertaining.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Spectre's Ghost Trails also viewed

 

Been to Bill Spectre's Ghost Trails? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Spectre's Ghost Trails, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.