We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Castle Unlocked

Oxford Castle Unlocked
44-46, Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY , England
+44 1865 260666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 95 Attractions in Oxford
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Castle Unlocked explores the 1000-years of Oxford's History. Led by one of our costumed character guides, the rich history of the castle with a prison at its heart will be revealed to you. Climb St. George's Tower and take in the stunning views before descending into the atmospheric crypt, along the 18th century prison wing and into archaic man-made mound.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The building was extremely interesting and a lot of effort had been put in by the staff and guides who were friendly and knowledgable about the venue. The price we thought was reasonable and there was lots to see and do in and around the castle and tower etc. we allowed half a day for this and found that to be about right, lots to do in nearby oxford too with lots of shop and places to eat. Some nice walks and view also, overall a great day

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    192
    53
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Guide!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The best things about this attraction are the unusual location (castle/prison) and the high standard of the guides who are both knowledgeable and fun in their delivery. The interpretation does need some work and investment - we were told that this was about to happen. Worth a visit - book online to get the discount.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Not value for money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Actually guides are more interested in telling that this tower is better, than the original Saxon tower. which has actually better view than there st. George tower.
For its price actually we all preferred Saxon tower which is on cornmarket street not only that it has beautiful things to see from history. but a very spiritual place. I rescon people should go there than here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unlocked, General Manager at Oxford Castle Unlocked, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
It's always disappointing to read one star reviews and I can only apologise that you felt the experience was not of the standard you were expecting.

We pride ourselves on our history and the unique way in which we choose to tell it, as well as the relationships we have with other attractions in Oxford. Each of us has our own story to tell but together we are able to track our roots back over 1000 years with Oxford Castle and St Michael at the North Gate playing an integral part in the cities birth and protection throughout this period.

We are also lucky enough to be able to take guests on a more in-depth story than most starting with the original Saxon settlement and subsequent Norman invasion through the English civil war and onto the amazing history of the prison that now stands on the site. So we think there's a lot to see and do with us as well as across the rest of Oxford and I would advise anyone to take a trip to the city and see what they can discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Splendid guide and interesting history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were lucky enough to take the tour with a great guide who really made history come alive. The stories of the past told in this environment were interesting and the view from the top of the Tower well Worth the walk up the stairs.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little bit disappointed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The overall experience was just ok but i was expecting more.
I did love the fact that each tour had a historical figure relating to the castle to take you around and ours was great, really funny and a few audience participation games.
The tower part of it i found a little daunting, its not for the faint hearted, if you dont like small spaces or get dizzy easily then i wouldnt go up the tower!! The view is ok from the top but the thought of having to clamber back down again tarnished it!
We then went on to the newer part of the prison, it was very interesting. But the the guide leaves you half way through and you literally have 2 rooms to look around which wern't that great and then your done. Dont think we were any longer than an hr.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Castle Unlocked also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Castle Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Castle Unlocked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.