We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Castle Unlocked

Oxford Castle Unlocked
44-46, Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY , England
+44 1865 260666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 95 Attractions in Oxford
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Castle Unlocked explores the 1000-years of Oxford's History. Led by one of our costumed character guides, the rich history of the castle with a prison at its heart will be revealed to you. Climb St. George's Tower and take in the stunning views before descending into the atmospheric crypt, along the 18th century prison wing and into archaic man-made mound.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well thought out tour with an entertaining and knowledgeable guide in character as 'King Sven'. Worth the climb up the tower to see the views of the city and learn some of the history of the castle and prison.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    192
    53
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An interesting use of a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were on a long trip and used Oxford to break the journey up a little.

To my shame (and having been a regular business visitor to the City) I didn't even know that Oxford had a castle so went along with wife and kids to see what it was all about.

Not disappointed, the "castle" part was just a Tower but gave an interesting insight as to some of the City's history with the tour of the cells (including the various historical attitudes to crime and punishment) fascinating.

It was school holidays so there was the obligatory treasure hunt with sweetie at the end for the kids (not a criticicism, my kids love them) so all in all a good effort and I think that I left enriched for the experience (even if I was the mug who stood closest to the pillory when the guide decided to provide a practical demonstration).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Not sure what to expect but I shouldnt have worried it was excellent. Th guides dress up in costumes of the day. The guided tour was excellent, a good pace and often funny. The view from the top is well worth the climb up the 100 stairs. It was all extremely enjoyable and if you do the City bus tour you get a discount on the price of the ticket. I would cerainly recommend this tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Oxford Castle And Prison Brought To Life”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect when I visited Oxford Castle with my wife and two sons, who are 8 and 6. However, it was one of the most enjoyable attractions we have visited. Our tour guide was in the character of a prisoner, and the first part of the attraction is a talk at the base of the tower, followed by a climb to the top of the tower, with a break halfway up. Our 6 year old managed the stairs fine, and the small size of the group (15 in ours) works well, and encourages a feeling of camaraderie. There were some great views of Oxford from the top of the tower, without it feeling too scary for those of us who are not great with heights! We then descended the tower and went into the crypt- again, just scary enough for younger kids, and not too claustrophobic for those of us with multiple mild phobias! The trip then progressed into the prison and after a brief talk in a couple of the cells, we were left to our own devices to wander the prison, castle and mount.
I can't praise the tour guide enough, fascinating tales and plenty of jokes without him overstepping into taking the mickey.
A great attraction, and one that leaves a lasting impression on you. Our 6-year-old is asking to go back again, and even the café has great, reasonably priced food.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Rather interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pleasantly surprised. Worth the money. Went with the tour, it was very interesting. Guides dress up in costume and tell of the history of the castle/prison. Do the mound too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Castle Unlocked also viewed

 

Been to Oxford Castle Unlocked? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Castle Unlocked, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.