We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as I expected from other reviews!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Guest House
Save
You added Gables Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   6 Cumnor Hill, Oxford OX2 9HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Louth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not as good as I expected from other reviews!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of March. The owners are very friendly and first impressions are excellent - fresh flowers in the room, an extremely well-stocked tea tray and a beautifully decorated room. The bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely clean and well-appointed. However, there are a couple of niggles I would wish to report - we were given instructions for buses into Oxford but they were not detailed enough - we nearly ended up doing a tour of a local housing estate on the way back. Also, the breakfast room is VERY small and the breakfast is OK but we have had a lot better elsewhere. However, the most annoying part of our stay was that there was a phone alarm(?) or something going off all night so we got very little sleep. We mentioned it to the owners in the morning and they seemed to know about it, but there was no hint of an apology. Rather disappointing really.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write the review. We do try to give our guests thorough instructions on which bus to get back from town and apologise we did not make it clear enough.There are so many buses coming back from the city and the drivers are usually very helpful if people get a bit confused. We do try to stagger our breakfasts so that we can give full attention to everybody and I do hope you will return to sample the special breakfast choice we offer every day. We did not realise the phone alarm had disturbed you through the night until the next morning, unfortunately we were unable to rectify this until the next morning without disturbing the whole house. We have now rectified the situation. We look forward to seeing you again at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    19
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
54
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I'm visiting Oxford on business and was shocked by the price of hotels. But why stay in a characterless hotel when you can stay in this delightful B&B which is like a home from home. I received a friendly welcome from Tony. I'm in room 1 with a most comfortable bed. I haven't slept so well in ages. it's not a big room but perfect for me with a lovely ensuite which has a powerful shower. It also has everything I need, including TV with iPod docking station, free wifi, tea and coffee, a suitcase stand, there's even a trouser press. it's a warm room too, which I like. There are shops, takeaways and a pub nearby if you want to eat in the evening. But the overwhelming thumbs up is reserved for Sally's breakfast - fresh fruit salad (not from a tin) and a beautifully cooked breakfast (for me, scrambled egg, mushrooms and tomatoes every day). It's easy to get into the city centre from here, there are a couple of bus stops just minutes from the front door. A 10-minute tax ride into the centre cost me just £6. I'm coming back to Oxford next week and have already booked to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay with us. We are so glad your slept so well and enjoyed your home cooked breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Ideal out of town location... Bus stop straight outside... (4a) Lovely rooms, very clean, warm and comfortable. Had beautiful nights sleep. Plenty of choice for tv, tea In room too.... Service was very good on arrival and at breakfast where there was plenty of choice .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello, thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you found your room cosy and inviting after a hectic day. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Don't be put off by the slightly uninspiring location and external appearance, this is a warm, friendly, spotlessly clean B&B with a good breakfast, comfortable bed, strong shower and welcoming hosts. What else do you need?

I would have rated it excellent but... the room was tiny, I much prefer a duvet to sheets and charging £1 for WiFi is just an irritation. It's not the cost, it's the convenience - I just can't be bothered to leave my room and find the owner to get the code. Sad but true!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review, we have taken your comments on board. We do usually ask guests on arrival if they would like the wifi code. As wifi requests have become the norm rather than an extra, we are now offering free wifi access. We always have sheets and duvets on our beds plus extra throws on these current chilly nights. We hope to see you again soon, the larger rooms get booked up quickly, so try to book early if you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wonderful hospitality , lovely rooms, lovely decorated. Wonderful breakfast. Would recommend it to anybody who is going to Oxford for a visit. Sally was very attentive and cheerful. Made you feel very at home. Was very surprised with a menu for breakfast and we would love to come back again. This was our second visit and we will come again. I have recommended my son to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello Lynda and Keith, we enjoyed seeing you both again and glad you liked another room at Gables. It makes all the refurbishments worthwhile when guests are happy with the result. We look forward to meeting your son in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I have just returned with 3 other couples from a weekend break at Gables.
What a gem. A fantastic B&B and Sally the proprietor is only too willing to help with information.
Easy access into Oxford City centre from buses immediately outside.
Excellent and thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Hello, thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you all. We hope to to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been trying to book into the Gables for a while as we have family that live nearby. Finally managed last weekend and we were not disappointed. Sally was so friendly and helpful. The B&B is warm and welcoming plus spotlessly clean. We are looking forward to going back there later in the year.

Room Tip: Probably book the larger King if you can but bed was really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallytea, Owner at Gables Guest House, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Hello, it was a pleasure to meet you and I am so glad everything lived up to your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Guest House

Address: 6 Cumnor Hill, Oxford OX2 9HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gold award winning bed and breakfast run by former Landlady of the Year, Sally Tompkins. Guests can be sure of a warm welcome and efficient service. Wide choice of home cooked breakfasts catering for all tastes. High quality and peaceful rooms providing every comfort for business and leisure travellers. Most rooms overlook the garden at the rear and countryside beyond. Free wifi internet, flat screen tvs/iphone docks, direct dial telephone, beverage trays. Only a few minutes walk to local restaurants and a short bus ride to city centre, or walkable on good weather days. Free on site parking for guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gables Guest House Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.