We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heather House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heather House
Save
You added Heather House to your Saves list
192 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SD, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free wifi and parking
Ranked #13 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at Heather House for one night, and found my room to be very clean and spacious. The owner, Vivien is very friendly and helpful. Only a 20 minute walk to the High Street, however it lies on one of the main bus routes should you not feel like walking. I would definately stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    84
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
52
71
59
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed at Heather house for a week, which I spent studying at the Bodleian Library in Oxford.
I found a very nice place, and had a very clean and comfortable room (I took one of the double rooms). The place is indeed very quiet, and Vivian was very friendly and helping.
The location was even better than I expected - a 15 minute walk from Oxford's center, which I made every day (although there is a frequent bus going from just outside the guesthouse). A computer connected to the internet, which is available to the guests, was also a very big help for me.
I thought it was an excellent value for money, even beyond my expectations.

  • Liked — Clean, good location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2008

Heather House is a pleasant B & B. The location is ideal to explore Oxford. The walk to High street is only 20 minutes. Alternatively, there is frequent bus service directly in front of the house. This B & B was immaculate and quiet. The breakfast was good. The owner was accommodating as far as the time I wanted to eat and even packed me a to-go breakfast one morning. I would visit Heather House again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Vivian was a gracious hostess. The room was clean and homey, and the bed quite comfortable. At night it was very quiet, even though the location is right in Oxford. And breakfast was lovely. Very nice stay and an excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

I stayed at Heather House recently when visiting Oxford. The rooms Viv showed me were tastefully decorated and clean and the room I stayed in was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and filling. I was travelling on my own and found Viv and the other guests I met at breakfast to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

stayed at heather house for two nights to attend a wedding in oxford,viv was very helpful pointing out places of interest and the easiest ways to get into town.rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was one of the best ive had in a B&B great value for money.I was so impressed I intend to stay at heather house again in the summer when I visit oxford to do some sight seeing as I didnt get the chance this time around

  • Liked — value for money,cleanliness comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2008

We booked through the Oxford Information centre and thought for 80 pounds a night that the rooms would be okay. This was not the case and we were given a room that was dirty and the bathroom smelt. The breakfast in the morning was also a disappoinment with a very poorly cooked breakfast and an equally poor continental breakfast only offering cereal with no fruit or yoghurt as a basic.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heather House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heather House

Address: 192 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 1SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Heather House Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heather House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.