We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oxford
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lisajrbur...
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delightful cottage and town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We loved staying in the old barn! The cottage was comfortable, quiet and historic, and the perfect size for our family of 4. Wheatley is a charming town, an easy commute into Oxford, and worth a visit itself. Nearby were groceries and restaurants, and the bus stop was just a block away. And above all, we enjoyed meeting Ian and his lovely family, who were so welcoming and wonderful during our stay.

Highly recommended.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DeneeRich...
1 review
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I slept better here than I have in months. Had I known they had washer/dryer I would have packed less. Every appliance works perfectly. Water temps were great. The garden is the stuff of fairy tales in its potter-esque delight. Besides the perfection of the lodging and hosts, the village of Wheatley was superb. Great food, kind folks. I've raving about this place on Yelp, fb & twitter as well.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Stephan H
london
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable luxurious accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This converted old barn has two large bedrooms, one with a large double bed the other two single beds. Sheets, towels blankets etc all of highest qualityt
Very well decorated and modern comfy furnishings and fittings. Good amount of light and plugs and ample cupboard space.Well heated and abundant hot water
Upstairs bathroom with bath and another toilet downstairs,
Downstairs a living room and kitchen with fridge and washing machine plus a dining room so completely self contained .

The barn is situated one end of a large and well laid out garden, the owner's house being at the other end.
There is space to sit out and have tea etc in the garden and a large apple tree gives shade in the centre.
The property is situated in the middle of Wheatley a charming picturesque village and countrry walks are very nearby as is the proximity of transport to Oxford.
There are shops nearby and a host of restaurants and pubs plus some beautiful older buildings and lanes in the village.
The owners make every effort to make the stay as comfortable and pleasant as possible and are very approachable, friendly and knowlegeable about the surrounding areas.
The combination of a scenic villlage, amenable hosts and a beautiful place to stay make this ideal for Oxford and exploaring the countryside around .

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfort value for money and hosts
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
michaelru...
Ruthin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pleasantly situated, well appointed, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

recommend to other visitors, family allow space but also very welcoming. Convenient for Oxford and country walks

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: quiet but convenient
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Absy25
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heartwarming, Cosy and it won't upset your bank either”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Overall, this place was fabulous, it was everything we needed & in such short notice too, it was like finding gold dust, we were certainly very lucky at how perfect & reasonable the price was.

We stayed for one night, 'we' being 4 guy mates just escaping from life to catch up & have fun for a night in Oxford.

As we knocked on the door to enter, we were rather skeptical at first, as we couldn't see anything like the pictures in sight, but we were at the right place.

First off, the owners of the place were the nicest people we have probably met, it felt very welcoming & overall a great atmosphere. Ian & his wife were the best hosts we have probably ever had the chance of meeting during non-hotel oriented visits.

The actual place used to be a stables & the owners did a very good job in revamping it into a place of living, there's a nice spacious living room, a fairly roomy kitchen, a spiral staircase up to a very spacious double bedroom & another bedroom with two single beds. There's enough kitchenware (just about) to cook a christmas dinner (quite literally ;)). There's cupboards & drawers to store your items, the shower was decent albeit the water came out a bit tired-like.

There was also a spacious dining room on the ground floor & another toilet.

The only problem we probably had (although it was a small problem) was that the wifi was a bit weak, we had problems connecting to it however we were only staying one night so it wasn't too bad.

tl;dr - Great Place, amazing value for money, you will not find a cheaper place with the same quality! Ian, his wife & his family as well as his dog were all very friendly & welcoming, wifi was a bit dodgy :P.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: How cute & cosy it was.
Liked least: Wifi Strength
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Katie L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic cottage in a perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The cottage was absolutely perfect. I stayed over the New Year with 3 friends and I only have good things to say. The owners were more than helpful, extremely accommodating and we were quickly made to feel at home. There is everything you could ask for, fresh clean towels, heating and even a dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. It was a lovely cosy place to stay and we have every intention of going back!

Only a short drive from Oxford town centre and not too far from Bicester Village, the location was perfect.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
vse40
eastbourne, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely house in convenient location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This house is ideal for visiting Oxford which is about 6 miles away. It is set in a peaceful location in the centre of Wheatley but within walking distance of restaurants , pubs and shops. The house is well furnished, spotless and well equipped. The owners very welcoming and friendly. This is a Park and Ride a short distance away which gives easy access into Oxford. We can certainly recommend the Barn if you want excellent accommodation, close to Oxford but without the hustle and bustle of staying in Oxford itself. We are already planning a trip back in the summer!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Ian R
Speaks English, Spanish, French, Italian, Dutch
Listed since : Nov 2013
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 19 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing