We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B style accom with character!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tower House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tower House to your Saves list
Tower House
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   15 Ship Street, Oxford OX1 3DA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“B&B style accom with character!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at the Tower House for 2 nights. First thing to note. There is NO convenient parking in Oxford city centre. The only parking available is park & ride out of the city. £2.20 for the bus in. And only 2 sites allow parking for >24hrs. Pay & display is charged at exorbitant rates. I'm talking ~£25 for daytime (0800-2000hrs) and a further £3 overnight. As for the underground parking at gloucester green? There's No parking there after midnight with a £100 fine! Saw a few unfortunate suckers getting hit for the century by the warden! You have been warned.

As for Towerhouse itself? Unbeatable location. 5 mins walk from all the shops and sights. As mentioned before by others, it is built into the old city walls. I personally disagree with some of the other reviewers who claimed it was dirty. We stayed in the pink room on the top floor with shared bathroom. It was small and everything looked lopsided (it's a 700yr old building people!). Initial impression was that it wasn't very clean, but we quickly realised that it was just the age of the building and original architecture. Hardly a speck of dust was visible and certainly no mouldy corners on closer inspection.

Room was very warm and not drafty at all despite some nasty rainy & windy weather. Quite unlike many old houses. Walls were well insulated from noise. Bathroom was very clean and well stocked with soaps/ shampoos. Water pressure was surprisingly good as well!

WiFi for free and tea-making facilities were available in the room.

The breakfast was continental style. A little limited in selection, true. But one gets freshly brewed coffee and friendly conversation with the manager Wayne! Who was extremely helpful in the hunt for parking and extra tips on the city and building itself!

Overall, we had a good stay at Tower House. It's pricey but comparable to anything in a similar district. Nothing in Oxford is cheap btw. So, if you're looking for luxury and opulence, I suppose this wouldn't be the place to stay. If you're looking for a piece of history and the chance to stay in an authentic, rustic historic building, this is it! It's clean, comfortable and in the city centre... Enough said!

Thanks again Wayne for all your help! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    48
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
15
47
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Quiet place right in the centre of the city and so it's very convenient. This was offset by the
room decor and tidyness which left something to be desired and the breakfast was average, however.
The Tower House is medievel and part of it was connected to the old city walls. It has a ghost (we didn't see it).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Mid-Oxford, easy walk to everywhere; rooms are small, building is 700 yrs old, with some parts slightly run-down. Price is high, but that's due to the central city location. Street noise in front bedroom,; more a hotel than a B+B. No parking. Three storey building, no elevator, but landlord carried our bags up for us. Even tho we have mixed feelings, we may go back due to good location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Very good B&B in Oxford. Good value for money, you can't have a better location, surrounded by the Bodleian Library, Broad Street and High Street, you can easily walk around in the centre. Since it is central, it's an old house, so ceilings are low and rooms are not so big, but keep in mind this is a B&B. Breakfast is ok in a lovely dining room. Staff is also very helpful. I would highly recommend this place to anybody looking for a B&B in Oxford and will surely stay there again if I'm back in town.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The place is a gem, a little high priced, but well worth it for the location. We were on the 3rd floor (2nd in England) with a lovely view into a college 'quad'. No problems with the shower, once we figured out how to use it. Enjoyable continental breakfast.Both Ronel and Wayne were very helpful. The place is centrally located with easy access to all major sights, all within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

I was there for couple of days for an interview. I accidentally left my suit at the hotel and went abroad when I called them back they told me that they had the suit and I should hold on the phone. Few minutes they came on the phone and said that they do not have it. They clearly had my suit which was new and they decided to keep it.

I am very disappointed and I would not recommend it due their lack of honesty.

Room Tip: The rooms are very low and the breakfast is bad.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

You won't find better located accommodation in Oxford - right in the middle of the city close to the Bodleian Library yet in a reasonably quiet location. The building is old and attractive and is well furnished in keeping with the style of the property. I found my room to be very comforatable. However, it is important to bear in mind that this is a limited service establishment - no room service, no lounge or bar for guests and continental breakfasts are the only meal provided. As there are countless places to eat and drink close by the limitations were no problem. Like some other reviewers, I thought the electric shower was poor. However, unlike one reviewer I found the place to be spotlessly clean. Quality accommodation is in short supply in central Oxford so nowhere is cheap but I would say this provides a relatively good value and friendly option.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower House

Address: 15 Ship Street, Oxford OX1 3DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tower House Hotel is a Seventeenth Century Guest House, situated on a quiet street in the heart of Oxford city center. Oxford is a delightful city, famous for its dreaming spires, ancient University colleges and beautiful architecture. The hotel is two minutes walk from all the major tourist attractions. The Hotel has seven unique rooms, each one is individually designed and furnished with period antiques. The hotel is steeped in history, the bastion of the medieval city walls form part of the dining room and the front of the hotel overlooks Jesus College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tower House Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tower House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.