We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but beds are reminder of previous usage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Oxford Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Oxford Castle to your Saves list
Malmaison Oxford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but beds are reminder of previous usage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and is a wonderful reconversion of an old jail. Rooms are fine and bar too, although dimly lighted. We did not eat in the hotel having read previous reviews. Our real discomfort was with the beds. The mattress was far too hard for our taste and the pillows not firm enough. The Malmaison would do well to check out the beds at the Sofitel. However, if you have different sleeping preferences, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    563
    307
    149
    67
See reviews for
127
1,111
52
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Really nice and beautiful place. I've organise it as a birthday surprise for my fiancee. Staff really helpfull. Interesting idea for use of old prison. Had a really good time.
They should change taxi drivers. Really rude and expensive.We've walk to the station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Having stayed at the Malmaison Hotel in Reading ( the only redeeming feature of this dreary town), we tried the same chain in Oxford having seen it on the 'professional Geordie' episode of 'Lewis'.Retaining the cell doors, the painted brick walls and the prison walkways is so appropriate that I would not have been entirely surprised to see Noel Coward descending the walkway stairs, as in the scene from the original film 'The Italian Job'.The room, three cells, was spacious, comfortable and provided everything one could need for a weekend stay. The bathroom was equally spacious, modern and very clean with lovely big towels. Decor is, as always, dark- the Malmaison signature- but stylish. I would have preferred the lighting to be a little brighter but this is common to most hotels. There was a 'knees up' on Monday night so we could hear a thudding noise but this was turned down after eleven so did not disturb our night's sleep. Perhaps the management have taken note of Jo D's criticism. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as both of us felt that just a touch under £14 was too big a hit for cereal and toast which is all either of us wants for breakfast. Fine if you want to eat a large cooked breakfast but we don't. The staff were very polite and pleasant on our arrival and departure but otherwise we didn't need to trouble them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A great Mal in an old prison. Wonderful experience staying in converted cells. It also delivers on the Mal concept - tongue in cheek, nice design, good food, wonderful wine. Great to stay there and explore Oxford. One of the better hotels in the chain.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived 1-30 pm parking attendant very helpful, checkin after waiting a long time we are told
room is not ready,so we went out for two hours and on our return waited an age to checkin,only one person checking people in and out.
we got to our room a clean but rather worn and threadbare a hole in the arm of the chair, stains on the carpet, mildew in the shower + sealant pealing.
we did manage to change our room & to be fair they gave us a much better one, but by this time it was wearing a little thin.
that night had dinner outside the hotel [excellent] came back went to the restaurant bar where we met josh,part time student barman what a great chap gave us tips about where to go and chatted about all sorts,we woke up the next morning to a note pushed under the door with more tips.
Breakfast Disaster! full english or[ the mal] pre cooked & held over cooked, dried out, hard, inedible there are not enough words.
I made an appointment to see the deputy general manager[John Ryan]
for later that day, I arrived 5 mines early he arrived 15 mines late after being phoned,
he then listened to what i had to say and insisted that everything coming out of his kitchen was cooked to order which was an outright lie,he repeated his lie several times so i suggested that if he thinks that then he is not in contact with his staff.
He showed a total lack of respect to the point of rudeness.
Our two nights cost us £530 including £48 to park the car, the car got the best part of the deal.I'v had better service and food at £50 a night,DONT GO THERE!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Went for champagne and supper. I love the Castle Quarter and hadn't been to Malmaison for a while. Champagne was great. Wine was excellent. Menu varied and interesting. We ordered bread and olives assuming this was nibbles before the meal. Out starter to share (Mal Lollipops) arrived first. The offending bread and olives arrived after we were half way through the lollipops. So we didn't want it and sent it away. Our mains - Thai curry and Pan fried cod were really good. Dessert was so sweet - the Mal bar- but my friend succeeded in finishing it. He also told a story when he visited a friend in Oxford Prison. Superb surroundings. But the service was lax to say the least. The team were polite and friendly but not always with a fantastic grasp of English. Needless to say the bread and olives appeared on the bill. So that meant requesting it to be removed. Which happened.

Room Tip: Lovely quirky venue. Go for that alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were kept awake by thumping music until 2am which ruined an otherwise pleasant stay. Staff no help whatsoever . At these prices you should be able to sleep then you want to . Hotel itself is stylish, a nice building very close to centre of town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Address: 3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Oxford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.