We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good room, and a good nights sleep!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malmaison Oxford Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Malmaison Oxford Castle to your Saves list
Malmaison Oxford Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good room, and a good nights sleep!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Good service overall. Nice room. Would stay again. And beautiful surroundings. Good location also as in city center.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    564
    308
    149
    67
See reviews for
127
1,114
52
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

we stayed as a couple in June 2012 for 1 night. Obviously the staff had been reading the rather negative reviews and all presented a very friendly helpful face to us. Even when my girlfriend dropped he mobile phone in water, the chef came out of the kitchen with some silica gel crystals and ziplock bags to assist.

The hotel is an awkward building, but the designers have made the most of it, though in a strange 1980's club like decor. We stayed in the old block, and the rooms worked well spatially, though the a/c and heating had a few problems with they fixed as soon as we pointed this out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Our 2nd stay at Malmaison, Oxford which used to be the old jails of the Oxford palace. Nice concept. Good reception. Great rooms made of 3 old cells. The bathroom was large enough. The food at the bar was also of good quality. Really no negative points in this well situated hotel in Oxford!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Fascinating building and well worth a visit. Great location in centre of Oxford. Rooms are excellent but ours was very dark.
On arrival at 4pm we were told our room wasn't ready. We were in a rush to get changed and get out for a late lunch so were a little annoyed. The receptionist was polite but unsympathetic. It was because they were very busy. Is that an unusual occurrence for an Oxford hotel at graduation time?? She suggested we get a coffee in the bar. I suggested this might be complimentary! She agreed.

The next day we came back to our room at 4.30pm to rest before dinner to find it was just being made up so again we were despatched to the bar.

Throughout our stay staff were polite and efficient but I rarely saw a smile or any sign they were enjoying their job. We felt "managed" rather than welcome. There were a few signs giving some of the history of the building but we were never told anything or given any information. When I asked a few questions one staff member mentioned there was an original cell to see. I had to hunt for it as there were no signs.

Our room was in the House of Correction, not the main building which, again, was a little disappointing. We had to walk across an open area to get from our room to the main building with steep steps.

The building is very dark with spotlighting and little daylight. The bar downstairs is very austere and has little atmosphere. The bar upstairs was empty the first night is more like a sports bar with large screen TV. It was empty the first night (Friday!) but busy on Saturday.

Breakfast was excellent and made up for other shortcomings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I cant really fault the hotel, very vell decorated and staying in the cells is such a weird experience but something i thouroughly enjoyed. Brilliant location just 5 minutes walk to the centre and a top restaurant and bar if you dont fancy venturing out.

Only negative point would be the rude service i received upon arrival from one of the receptionists who didnt seem to bother with us as we were younger than the average guest.

Room Tip: Stay in the cells!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

The malmaison hotel chain is a great concept! Always using a building with history and caracter, in this case a old prison.
You will find a great bar, and a terrasse outside and inside ( courtyard) I would advise a nice cocktail, the restaurant is in the basement, so really interesting it used to be old cells. I would recommend a burger and the Malbec as wine.
Rooms are extravagent and comfortable from the standard to the suite!
Lots of packages make it affordable for any budget. ENJOY!

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We booked this hotel as have seen it on previous trips to Oxford but never had the joy to stay. As it was my 30th this year we booked to stay for one night on the Jubilee weekend.

The first thing to say is that the service here is excellent: we had booked a car parking space (pricey at £20.00 but it entitles you to 24 hours parking so you can park up before your room is ready) and arrived at 12.45pm but our room was already available and the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. The level of service from check-in lasted throughout our stay with every member of staff being attentive and friendly.

The hotel is a converted prison and we paid extra to stay in the main building as it has the original staircases and doors from its prison days. Our room was 117 on the ground/first floor so the view wasn't great, and anyone walking past could see the bed through the window, but the room itself was marvellous. The furnishings are cosy, the bed is huge and very comfortable and there is ample storage and facilities including flat screen TV, DVD player, and a bathroom with a free-standing bath and walk-in shower. Each room is converted from three cells so are spacious. The toiletries in the bathroom were also gorgeous and promptly went into our suitcase!

We didn't have dinner at the hotel but visited the cocktail bar on the third floor. The view from there is very impressive and the furnishings are comfortable and contemporary. There is a huge selection of cocktails and other drinks on offer and it was the perfect start to our evening (we then had dinner at The Living Room which is on the driveway to the hotel - highly recommended).

Our room included breakfast which we went to have at about 9.30am (information in the room recommends avoiding the core time of 10-11am and we had no problem being seated and served). Again, the service was exceptional and the continental buffet selection is ample. We also ordered from the hot menu and I had the best waffles I have ever tasted (apologies for being so effusive but I LOVED that breakfast!). All of the food was cooked fresh to order and everything looked appetising.

We checked out after breakfast and this was relatively painless. The hotel was quite busy so we had to wait for a receptionist but our car was delivered from the valet parking quickly and everything was efficient. The only thing I would warn people about is that a payment is taken from the card you make your reservation with when you check-in but this payment is held in situ until you check-out when the actual bill is paid. I have no problem with this but it wasn't explained to me what the procedure was until I checked-out when it should have been explained at check-in.

We paid £265 B&B internet rate for a standard room in the main building which is enough to pay. However, we loved our stay and the location is faultless so we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Malmaison Oxford Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Oxford Castle

Address: 3 Oxford Castle, Oxford OX1 1AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Oxford Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Malmaison Oxford Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Oxford Castle Hotel Oxford
Malmaison Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malmaison Oxford Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.