We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Route 66

Route 66
92 Cowley Road, Oxford OX4 1JE, England
1865 201268
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #377 of 494 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would go back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Went on valentines and was lucky to find a table as it turned out to be a good meal at a reasonable price. The burger was succulent and delivered after a fairly quick period of time. Would go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    10
    7
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWFUL - charged my account but didn't deliver order - They denied receiving order from JustEat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Can't comment on food as didn't show up, despite the company taking payment! Not even answering their phone now.

Charlatans!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Veggie? Forget it...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I was left starving after finishing my pathetic starter sized portion of veggie Quesadilla, which annoyingly cost just as much as my friends' giant meat options. Also the menu left a lot to be desired as far as vegetarian options were concerned.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good - definitely worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My partner and I rocked up here at about 2155 last night and were pleased to be able to get a table and be served. The server checked the kitchen was still cooking before she let us have a table. Sensible!

We had the Route 66 Burger and a Steak Sandwich. Both were cooked as requested and were very tasty. Bringing me mayonnaise on request was no problem and I was impressed that the chef happily swapped red onions for white onions on my burger on request (red onions disagree with me).

It was a shame the draught beer (Peroni) had run out but there was bottled beer available so all was not lost!

All in all I'd say this is a good restaurant, good service and good food. I'd definitely go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Would definitely go again. Three of us very pleased with our food and the service was quick and polite. Not overly expensive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 66 also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Route 66, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.