We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a great charity venture, but great food and FANTASTIC coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Submarine

Yellow Submarine
12 Park End Street, Oxford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 34 Coffee & Tea in Oxford
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not just a great charity venture, but great food and FANTASTIC coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

What a great place. I like the food (simple and good value). I love the coffee (it's amazing coffee) and the staff are ALL very welcoming and friendly. Obviously managed by a true professional who not only knows about customer service but can train and nurture his staff and give them a great opportunity to flourish. Thank you for bringing a smile to my day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“my first visit after reading about this cafe. would highly recommend it. Great coffee and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

This is such a lovely cafe and sorry I didn't find it earlier. Will send all my friends there.The coffee is great and the staff really nice. I will be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

At the recommendation of trip advisor I went today for lunch with friends. We had delicious sandwiches, fabulous coffee and very pleasant service. A great charitable cafe in a very competitive city. - good job!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good coffee feels good. Feel good factor is max'd for this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stumbled across this place when I first arrived in Oxford in October last year. I remember the coffee as being good but thought of it more as a 'charity place' as they train people with disabilities for work experience.

Since then I've been looking for good coffee - Australians are really obsessed with coffee and it's been hard to find anything that meets Australian coffee standards (sorry about the snobbery here). I've been to a couple of places around Oxford and they're good but....

Last weekend, we were in a rush to get to the bus station from the train station and my partner reminded me of this place. Oh man, such great coffee. This is the best coffee in Oxford if you're used to Australian-styled coffee.

The feelgood factor is 100% for training people with disabilities. The coffee though really feels good - and that gets a 200% feelgood factor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing People & Amazing Coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Yellow Submarine is a cracking little cafe in central Oxford, that is well worth a visit for the friendly atmosphere, excellent service and out of this world coffee.
This charity run social enterpise not only makes a fantastic contribution to the local community, but also manages to make the best coffee going. I don't know how they do it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Submarine also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Yellow Submarine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Submarine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.