We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice lunch on a lovely day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Browns Cafe

Browns Cafe
Avenue 4, Covered Market, Oxford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #214 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Rugby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice lunch on a lovely day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently had a day out in Oxford. Had a lovely day mooching round and found a little gem of a cafe in the covered market. Browns Cafe. A clean homely and very friendly little place with a varied menu at very reasonable prices. The staff were great too. All in all, excellent and would visit again.
Also if visiting Oxford, visit the tourist information office and get the walks booklet for a £1.00.
It had all we needed for our first visit to Oxford including info on the buildings, people and our walk around. Excellent value with no need to buy a flash/costly book and suggested by the staff at tourist info.
Finally visit the website for the inside market as the council want to raise the rates 40-70 % !!!
Ludicrous ! Sign up to the petition if you will at www.oxford-coveredmarket.co.uk .... I did.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“'wonderful home made food'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

we found this lovely little cafe in the covered market, we peeped inside and saw that the food diners were enjoying looked really good, it was quite busy as we ate our meal, which was fresh and home made, the fact that it was busy told us that this was a good place to eat. the prices were very good for the generous portions that we were given, seems to be no skimping on quantity and quality here. really do hope that this cafe goes on to thrive and be there for all those that use it. staff were polite and helpful, a lovely clean, pleasant place to take a break from the lovely sights of oxford. gwts 10 out of 10 from us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fruit salad and seeded toast very yummy and nutritious! My husband really enjoyed his sausage sandwich and hot choclate!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Quite enjoyed my visits here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Browns Cafe was a pleasant surprise to me, as from the outside I saw it as just another cheap cafe, one that just happened to be in the Covered Market, and while this is true my assumpations over the quality was incorrect.

To put it simply, the prices inside the cafe are cheap and cheerful while maintaining a good standard of service and high food quality you will find at other cafes and eateries in the covered market. You will find good quality full english breakfasts here for a nice price and a whole range of other meals available. Certainly for someone on a budget or needing a good breakfast you should stop off at Brown's Cafe.

I wonder if this is not just a clever marketing scheme as well? People who come to Oxford to visit do so to get a taste of Britain and surely you can get no better british feel then that of a british cafe.....hmmmm.....

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast nook tucked away in the covered market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

If you are after a tasty full English or even poached eggs on toast, try Browns. The staff is friendly and the ambiance is quite homely. The breakfast is reasonably priced. The cafe is small but turn around is quick, so I'm sure you can get a seat to enjoy your breakfast. I'd alway recommend the full English!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Cafe also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Browns Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Browns Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.