We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service,good pub food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Stars

Seven Stars
The Green | Marsh Baldon, Oxford OX44 9LP, England (Formerly Seven Stars Public House)
+44 1865 343337
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Seven Stars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 483 restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In 2013 the Seven Stars was bought by the local community who afforded the opportunity of running their pub to a local tenant. The pub is set in the stunning village of Marsh Baldon, which is just off the A4074 by Nuneham Courtenay and just 3 miles from Oxford.The pub is set up to serve good British pub food from open until 9pm every day and is a central part of the bustling local community.With a great garden and set right next to the largest village green in Europe the outside area is ideal for walkers and is also dog friendly. The local area also includes the Harcourt Arboretum for all those loving their outdoor walks.As part of their plan for the pub the local community has also invested in the conversion of existing buildings to make an additional restaurant space. This is due to open in November 2013. With views south over the countryside it is set to be a truly exciting project. We look forward to welcoming you to our pub soon.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent service,good pub food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick pub lunch with friends. Outstanding service, friendly & not over-zealous. Food well-cooked and just right for the occasion although we were pretty conservative in our choices. We will definitely return to try other things on the extensive menu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    45
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A village that cares for its pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Pretty little pub in a lovely setting. A good menu with nice wines and excellent real ales well cared for. The staff were pleasant and welcoming.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

went for a quick drink, but the smell of the food coming out from the kitchen forced us to stay for tuck, wonderful food, really friendly team of staff, a fabulous trip to the seven stars,,, we will be back,,, I think maybe sunday, for the lunch I have heard people raving about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved the food when it was run by chef Ollie and his wife Carrie, and that almost made up for the lack of atmosphere. However, now that it's been bought by the village, and expertly run by Matt, we can see where his predecessor went wrong! This is not in the right location to be a gastro pub. Now it's run as a village local pub offering great food. It's Friday night and we've just returned from a fabulous evening there. First of all, staff genuinely seem pleased to see patrons - they know how (and when) to smile! Waitress Flora was an absolute delight - attentive, informed and with just the right balance of staff to pal!. Simple menu, basically pub grub, but exciting specials and all excellent quality with magical flavours. My chicken, bacon and mushroom pie was to die for, (and they remembered that I didn't want gravy on it or on my veg) and my husband remarked that his fish and chips had an extroadinarily delicate flavour. Well done chef and team! They really deserve to do well, and we shall certainly be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“so glad it has reopened”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

this lovely pub has just been brought by the villagers and brought back to life, the staff are friendly and helpful, we had sunday lunch there on easter sunday the food was very good, the pub has a good atmosphere with good background music just loud enough so you can still enjoy a conversation, i recommend a visit you wont be disappointed, the garden is also a good size,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Stars also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Seven Stars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Stars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.