We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like any other Burger Bar, the best I have ever been to.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byron George Street

Byron George Street
33-35 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AY, England (Formerly Byron Hamburgers)
+44 1865 792155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 471 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: We make proper hamburgers. Good Scottish beef, ground fresh, cooked medium, served in a squishy bun with fries and a craft beer.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not like any other Burger Bar, the best I have ever been to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Great burgers and for those who want something lighter than a full blown burger I would suggest the skinny burger, which I very filling. Staff very friendly and polite, fantastic service

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    74
    31
    12
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great expensive burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you like burgers i would definitely recommend this place. The food is top quality. There is a huge effort put into the atmosphere and the minimalist design. The downside is the price. You easily end up with bills over 35£ (not counting tip) for two after eating a relatively small meal. There seem to be a great deal of staff - different people took our drink and food orders and a thirst person brought the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you like burgers - a very nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Expensive but very good quality burgers in a friendly and lively atmosphere with great service! Have come here several times with my boyfriend, and was never disappointed. For two people it cost us with drinks each time around 30£. The milkshakes are a rip off, but the burgers are definitely worth it! The serve-yourself condiments are great and lots of fun. Would recommend this place to anyone that enjoys a simple menu and burgers. :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Never a let down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Have been to this branch plus others across London. Simple menu done well. The burgers are amazing so are all the side orders and drinks. Add great service and atmosphere. Really can't fault this place. Blows other chains around the same price point out of the water.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The burgers are amazing. Simple menu and great service. I would give it 5 stars if it weren't for the price. A tad expensive for a no nonsense burger, but it won't stop me going back again and again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron George Street also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Byron George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron George Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.