We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If hamburgers are your bundle, this is the place to go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byron Oxford

Byron Oxford
33-35 George Street, Oxford, England (Formerly Byron Hamburgers)
01865 792155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 483 restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $49
Cuisines: Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: We make proper hamburgers. Good Scottish beef, ground fresh every day, cooked medium, served in a squishy bun with fries and a craft beer.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“If hamburgers are your bundle, this is the place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Excellent burgers had by all, great service, excellent location, diner style decor. If you enjoy a burger, look no further for a no nonsense, straight up and down burger delight.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    53
    52
    22
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food, 5* staff and fun times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I went to Byron on Saturday night with my husband, and loved it so much I went back on Sunday with my family!

The restaurant has a very cool and retro interior - very New York 1950's style!

The staff are so friendly and professional and seem to really love their job which is fab!

But the main reason for going is the fabulous food! The burgers are the best I have ever eaten. We also had fries, coleslaw and onion rings - omg, so divine! The kids had the kids menu which was excellent - the brownies on the kids dessert menu were so scummy I don't eat desserts but I ate these!

This restaurant chain has humble origins, and it has done so well by being excellent and fun - I applaud the owner, they really know what they are doing! Good on you and thank you for such a great dining experience!

Also excellent value for money!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely delicious burgers and fantastic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Been to Byron a couple of times now and I must say I was dubious to start with as George St wouldn't be my first choice for a meal out but I must say how impressed I am with Byron. The interior is extremely chic, keeping in line with its London roots. The service is good and the burgers delicious! The menu isn't particularly long but it really doesn't need to be. Chunky, juicy, tasty burgers with good selection of additional toppings and battered onion rings bigger then your hand! The first visit does really require a Byron burger, it really helps you to appreciate what they're trying to do with their food with good, honest flavours. I was also lucky enough to visit in November, so it had to be a Mo burger which was just so zingy and tasty. Also love how the burgers are served medium rare, ensures a tasty juicy burger every time!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Movember "Mo Burger" - Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is the first time I have reviewed a place twice, but Byron's support of the Movember charity deserves a mention. The " Mo Burger" has to be the best burger I have ever tasted. The combination of toppings and sauces, combined with their great burger is stunningly good.
Event better 50p from every Mo Burger goes to the Movember charity. They are also doing a great job of promoting the charity.
Go get a Mo Burger before the end of the month, burgers don't get any better than this.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

For the price, I expected it to be best of the best! After went to my nearest Byron restaurant in Oxford, I was soooo disappointed with the taste and the size! Extremely disappointed! It doesnt taste as good as GBK and the burger is smaller than GBK! I know i shouldnt compare them but I think for a £9+ burger, i can cook it better than Byron Burger at home.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byron Oxford also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Byron Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byron Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.