We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66a Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I also at too high expectations. Upon arrival the staff was friendly and our room Balliol was nice. Though it's under the roof and 2nd night very warm despite all windows open and we took away the duvet. Bathroom nice but lack of water pressure, and the pump makes a lot of noise. Breakfast was not great, toast almost burned, eggs Benedict over cooked and scrambled eggs weird. Some of the waiters were nice, another one hangover? Also the flowers and plants have a hard time to survive in the restaurant. At the reception very nice and helpful staff. It's not far from the centre but still a 10 min walk, bus stop almost in front of the hotel, very convenient. Overall I think it's a nice hotel but overpriced

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    120
    86
    31
    21
See reviews for
46
151
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

A very pleasant hotel with friendly and helpful staff; my only gripe is that the bath/shower were not up to the standard I expected - the shower head was scaled and dirty with consequently low water pressure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed while visiting my little brother attending Oxford Univ. He recommended I stay here. Rooms are decent sized and have a nice bathroom. Great cafe area for sitting w coffee in morning or drinks in afternoon - good food! Staff is very friendly. Easy walk to many attractions, schools and restaurants.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had high expectations from seeing reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor and elsewhere. My initial reaction was fine as the reception was welcoming and friendly. The room however, although reasonably comfortable, was dated and firmly stuck in the eighties. Considering it has been billed as a four-star hotel the standards need to be lifted a tad, for example, there was a tissue left on the floor below the desk in the room, it was there when we got in, and still there when we left. The most disappointing element was the dinner. The menu was very tempting but throughout our stay there were menu items not available which got progressively worse by the night. All in all everything was ok but could have been much better with some care.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed her a couple of wks before Xmas 2012 and because the location is great, we booked it again, this time bringing my Mother and her Husband.
The majority of the staff are lovely and very helpful.
Great to have free parking, we parked up and walked everywhere for the 2 nights we stayed.
Breakfast was good but not excellent. I had eggs benedict, eggs were undercooked and too much sauce, portion was huge, too large for me. My Mother had the same the next morning but it looked completely different! Kitchen staff need to make sure the dishes stay the same. Tea and toast were delayed too, so I had to ask for it, then everything arrived at once!! Hot breakfast, tea and toast!!
The rooms are quite small and I think expensive, £215 a night is not cheap in my opinion. Would have liked more toiletries in the bathroom. Floor tiles were cracked and shower screen really needed to be replaced. Lovely huge towels though.
Upholstery getting very tired on the chairs in the room. Bed was excellent, very comfortable. A larger tv would be appreciated too.
Stair carpet needed cleaning or replacing. Generally everywhere needed a good clean. Just a few little tweaks and this hotel could be perfect.
It's a shame but next time we visit Oxford we will try a different hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here while visiting our son at university. We wanted to be within walking distance of his college in Broad Street. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The hotel was nicer than I expectted from the picture on the web. We had a standard room and was very nicley decorated. I loved the fabrics used. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean.
I only really had 1 niggle and that was no toiletries!! when a standard room is costing £175 per night I do expect some nice treats in the bathroom. I had not packed any toiletries and the only extra available was some shower gel in a fixed pump. I do like to take some little momentoes home with me.
The £175 did inlcude breakfast. There was a nice choice of cereals, pastries, cooked breakfasts. I opted for the eggs benedict and my husband has full English. It was ok My eggs were over cooked and I was not impressed with the full English - although the patries were lovely.
We had the set dinner in the evening. this was good value but the food would not win any awards. It was nice! not great
We then met my sons friends in the bar. The bar was very quiet. It would have been nice to have some soft background music and the bar bill and meal douobled our bill. So ended up an expensive 1 night stay. But I think that is probably down to the amount of beverages we consumed.
I would stay here again as the staff were great, hotel was clean and well presented and close to city centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here overnight on a friend's recommendation as we had to be at Brize Norton early the next day, we were not disappointed. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the centre of Oxford and all of the staff whom we came into contact with were very friendly, especially the gentleman behind the bar from Vincenza and the Head Waiter from Portugal (good luck with your wedding), it was lovely speaking to them both. Our room was in the courtyard and although it wasn't one of the biggest rooms we have stayed in, the bed was one of the most comfortable. As the weather was atrocious, the room was quite cold and after reporting this to reception the Head Waiter appeared at our door with a heater within 5 minutes, great service! This hotel has tables outside which would have been lovely to sit at had the weather been kinder but hopefully we will visit again soon when I'm sure the sun will shine and we can share a bottle of wine in the garden. Keep up the good work, hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66a Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.