We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location and friendly staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Cotswold Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66a Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“good location and friendly staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A good location , friendly staff, good restaurant with very imaginative food. I can only give this place 3 stars as the soundproofing in room 39 was so awfull you could have hear the people above if they had been playing chess.

Room Tip: do not accept room 39
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    119
    86
    31
    21
See reviews for
45
151
19
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked the Cotswold Lodge Hotel for our wedding anniversary, so wanted a special trip. The reception staff were lovely and the room was lovely.
We were pre-warned about the wedding taking place with an email the day before.

Our day in Oxford the first day was lovely. There isn't much space in the bar and terrace to go and a rather drunken couple having an inappropriate argument wasn't great but can't be attributed to the hotel.

We went into the hotel restaurant for a meal in the evening, which was ok but the service seemed a bit confused at times.

We had paid extra for breakfast so went back down to the restaurant in the morning. As a vegetarian, I was pleased to see the vegetarian cooked breakfast on offer so ordered that because I could not eat the cereal because there was no soya milk available.

My husband had the regular breakfast and, when mine arrived, they brought me a plate of meat as well. I had to send it back and re-order the vegetarian breakfast. Meanwhile, whilst waiting for my breakfast, my husband was eating his.

When they brought me another breakfast after around 6 minutes, it had black pudding on it, so I had to send it back again. When it was brought back, the black pudding had gone, but there were meat smears over the plate where it had clear just been removed and smeared, so I could not eat it.

I complained and said I couldn't eat it. They apologised, but then did not offer to get me another or give me another option. They just left me.

Meanwhile on the table next to ours, a man said his pregnant wife had had to send her egg back twice because it was undercooked (despite telling them that she was pregnant and needed it to be well cooked).

So, despite paying for breakfast, I went without any.

We had to go back to our room and pack and then complained to reception who were absolutely flabbergasted by our experience and apologised profusely. They refunded the cost of both our breakfasts, which was lovely, but it was now an hour and a half later and we still had a walk into Oxford to find something for me to eat!

By the time I ate, it was almost lunchtime.

Not a great end to a romantic evening away.

So the reception staff, the bar staff and the rooms are wonderful, but the hotel is let down by an extremely poor restaurant. It definitely needs some work on customer service.

Room Tip: If you're going to the hotel, book the rooms but avoid the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

An unexpected pleasure, this hotel is beautifully maintained, staff were universally helpful and friendly, someone is managing them really well. To our surprise the restaurant is really good and meals , just as good as the restaurant across the road, were much cheaper and the environment restful. Try the lunch menu or a peaceful evening meal. To really support such nice dishes staff need a little more training so that they can (for example) identify the cheeses in the local cheese selection (a real discovery, our French guests thought the UK only produced industrial cheddar). The menu should list the British beers available from the bar as our guests wanted to try local beers and our waitress had no idea what the hotel offered. Old Speckled Hen is well worth promoting to guests.
The real disappointment was the lack of soundproofed bedrooms, paper thin walls meant that we and our guests were woken at strange hours (1am, 2 am) by slamming doors (no door closers on heavy bedroom doors!) snoring, loud tele's, lovemaking, not bad guests, poor soundproofing, not what you expect in 4 star, newish rooms. Overall, highly recommended if you sleep very deeply and great for business or tourism. Great parking too

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room as the floors creak and disturb you in lower rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We have often stayed at this hotel and have enjoyed our stay each time. Perfect location for graduations and a good base for weddings. The staff are very helpful and 'go the extra mile' to make your stay memorable.
If you cross the Road and head down North Parade you will reach Jericho -the Bohemian part of Oxford. Great cafe culture and an Arts Cinema. Otherwise, you can head straight into the city or take a bus - past beautiful Keble College and the Pitt Rivers Museum - past Wadham to enter Blackwell's Book Shop! A gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridel, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We needed to join our sun for his summer school in Oxford. Nearly all the hotels were fully booked (President Bill Clinton was in town...) and we found this nice looking hotel, 10 minutes away from the Oxford city center.
From the outside it was really nice, good location and an very accessible car park.
It was not a very warm welcome, the staff was doing their job but that was it!
The rooms were small and during the night, I could hear the person in the neighbour-room "snoring".
The breakfast was ok, even I think that it is too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for four nights for a graduation at Oxford. Everyday we walked alongside the park for 20 minutes through very nice residential areas to get downtown. In the other direction you can walk to a boat house restaurant and rent a boat on the river. Or you can take a cab for small fare downtown. We have stayed at the places in town or closer. In writing this review you have to determine your location and the advantages of being away from some very large crowds,tour buses and higher prices in town. For us this price was moderately lower and that is important in comparing. Though there is a tad more historic ambience in town -I think the price you pay can be at times too high because business accounts are probably used. The personal service was fantasic - it was small and friendly with two lounges and excellent dining along with great high tea service. The rooms were very adequate along with the bathrooms. The idea of being on busy road is little overdone - as downtown Oxford can be even more busy. This is not a country get a away in the lake region - you are in one of the more popular towns. The wifi -we paid for an upgrade for skyping - a little slow - I let the desk know. In this arrangement service was very good since they left you to your privacy and were not invasive but always on hand to accomodate. We never found the front desk with a long line or people absent. Cabs were within minutes. The smaller more personal atmosphere along with excellent dining and easy access to the city is what will bring us to the lodge again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Above average decorated rooms, good location into Oxford City Center (about 1mile / 15 min walk). Staff were polite but nothing special. Free WiFi internet is provided but it's heavily throttled - I got about 7kbyte/sec out of it. There is a paid option at approx £5/day but I didn't try it.

The biggest complaint I have about this hotel is the price. We paid £155/night for a Single room that is tiny (Premier Inn rooms are at least twice the size). The value for money is not good. No hot water from the basin, balcony doors couldn't be opened. They could really improve the value by including Breakfast in the room rate.....breakfast by the way is £12.50 for a full English which get's you a tiny portion of scrambled egg, 1 sausage, 1 rasher or bacon, 1 tomato, 1 mushroom and a small black pudding. There is also a fruit and cereal buffet.

Parking is free and the hotel is easy to find. Room was very clean and quiet however in the courtyard rooms there is fountain that trickle water. If you sleep with the windows open, be warned. The key fob on the room key is huge and uncomfortable if you only have a jean pocket to store it in.

Advice to Management: Lower the room rate. Its 40% too expensive making value for money poor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66a Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotswold Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.