We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creation Theatre Company” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creation Theatre Company

Creation Theatre Company
St Thomas House | 6 Becket Street, Oxford OX1 1PP, England
+44 1865 766266
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 95 Attractions in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Think about those books, the ones that you'll always go back to, those moments in life where you think 'that's a bit like that chapter' or 'you're just like that character', those are the stories we love. We don't just want to leave those books on the shelf though, we take them down, hand them around, share them out and bring them to life. All over Oxford we find unusual spaces - these stories aren't set in theatres so we don't put them there. Castles, antique mirror tents, college gardens, bookshops and factories... we'll go wherever the stories take us, and so far we've taken over 500,000 people with us. From the thousands of children who've told classic stories in new ways through our education programme, to our professional actors and directors, you're always most likely to find us lost in a good book. 18 years, 54 shows, half a million audience members aged 5-95...we are Oxford's own Creation Theatre Company.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Creation Theatre Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Always energetic and inspired, we love seeing their interpretations and lively performances which take place in different interesting venues in Oxford both indoors and outdoors.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    18
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never a wasted evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I have seen Creation do all manner of things - though mainly their Shakespeare - and it is consistently very good, always accessible to seldom-theatre-goers like me, and pops up in the strangest of places. If you see Creation are up to something and you want to do something a little different, spend an evening with them.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lion, Witch & Wardrobe - Creation never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This year's Christmas show was superb as always. A real treat. As the show has now finished its run, all I'll say is - if you missed it, make sure you catch whatever they do next year! Creation have just announced that they'll be putting on an outdoor production of Macbeth this summer. Their summer Shakespeare is always fantastic (for all the family, including children 8+) so why not join their mailing list now and get advanced notice of tickets going on sale?

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“the Lion, the Witch & the Wardrobe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

WE travelled down to Oxford for a spot of post-Christmas relaxation, to include sight-seeing and a theatre trip. This was the only show we could get tickets for so we opted for it. I am so glad we did ... the imaginative production, the quality of the performances and the ambience of the venue left us spellbound. It was a truly amazing evening and a great end to a short break.
This was the last night of the production but I shall make a point of seeing other Creation Theatre productions in the future. Everything was a delight.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I would heartily recommend this production to anyone of any age, though you may find it very difficult to get seats as the three in my party had to sit separately. We shared a delicious mango sorbet in the interval though! Excellent actors and I enjoyed the adaptable scenery which could be a Professor's spooky house, a cage or a wood.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creation Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to Creation Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creation Theatre Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.