We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grapes Pub

The Grapes Pub
7 George Street, Oxford, England
01865 793380
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 493 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Grapes epitomises Oxford’s George Street of old. Situated in a prime location, the pub’s curiously traditional exterior stands out from the surrounding identikit chain bars and restaurants, whilst the new, lovingly restored interior envelops you with a warm welcome.Offering a carefully crafted food menu of old favourites, a premium selection of spirits and an extensive wine list , we are a Bath Ales pub so there is also an enviable range of great beer from both our own brewery and further afield.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Having read the reviews on trip advisor, I decided to take a chance with some family and the reviews were spot on. The service was fantastic and the food delicious. The fish goujons were beautifully crisp and piping hot. Great friendly atmosphere with both tourists and locals.

We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at The Grapes Pub, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Charlie020308

Many Thanks for your kind words, its always great to hear people have enjoyed their time here with us..

Hope to see you again soon

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    33
    9
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Great food and even better service. If you want traditional pub food in a spacious, bright and charming place very close to the bustling main shopping areas of Oxford, this place is for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at The Grapes Pub, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Afsary,

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review and for such kind words

We hope to welcome you again soon

Thanks

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

It is hard to find such a great pub, the staff are fantastic and knowledgeable and passionate about their beers, with at least 8-10 real ales to choose from and small casks of Bath Ales available to be purchased. On this particular visit I did not eat but have on previous visits, the food is excellent.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at The Grapes Pub, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Karen C,

Thank-you so much for you kind words again.

We like nothing better than to hear that people have enjoyed their time with us so many thanks for sharing this.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Very Friendly pub in a street full of chains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Went here last weekend with some friends before moving on elsewhere to eat .

The place is old schools with nice original tiled walls . The staff were all friendly and knowledgeable. Ir was nice to meet a bar man who remembered the previous round rather than one of the nondescript robots you get in other pubs on George Street.

Bath Beers are well worth the try but the cider is great !!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at The Grapes Pub, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi coughandcath

Many Thanks for you kind words here, we're very proud to be the only non chain food pub on the main street of Oxford..

We always aim for perfection and getting the basics right is the starting point, am glad we have here, I have to say I'm a big fan of bar tenders remembering my drink too..

Thanks once again and we'll look forward to welcoming you again soon

James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Apologies for the pun but this is one of the few Bath Ales pubs outside of the Bristol / Bath which
also has a guest beer. Good beer, good value food, good service and all in the centre of Oxford. Pleasant early evening atmosphere with good mix of people.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at The Grapes Pub, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Colin E,

Thanks for your kind words here, glad to hear you liked..

Hope you enjoyed your stay here in sunny Oxford, we look forward to welcoming you back

Many Thanks

James & Grapes Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grapes Pub also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Grapes Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grapes Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.