We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, great value hotel in the heart of Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bocardo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bocardo to your Saves list
The Bocardo
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
northwich
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Well located, great value hotel in the heart of Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I visited Oxford on my own as a little birthday trip so wanted a hotel that was super central and as safe as possible as a lone woman traveller. This hotel couldn't have been better. Directly above a Jamies Italian and surrounded by lots of eateries, pubs, theatres and cinemas it was ideal. The room was very quiet despite the busy area and it was easy to find, literally across the road from the park and ride bus (pear tree I think). The hotel just has a doorway at street level, which leads up to a reception and onto about 8 bedrooms. The reception feels more like the entrance to a beauty salon and there's qiute a lot of steps to get to the rooms, but it's all clean and functional. The room itself was lovely - modern, bright and warm. It's obviously all very new. Good facilities, tv, hair dryer etc and a lovely shower with great products and soft towels. The front of house lady was very helpful and friendly and made me feel right at home.

Shops are all very close. The Randolph Hotel (which has the Morse bar) is just a short walk ground the corner and worth a visit as is the Massoleum hotel which had a fabulous Cezanne exhibition when I visited . There's also a lovely little bakery beneath the hotel which was perfect for a morning croissant ( I didn't take breakfast as part of my booking).

All in all a great value, well located, lovely modern hotel and I would definitely stay again without hesitation. Recommended.

Room Tip: My room overlooked a side street which perhaps helped from a noise point of view. Reception also sai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
18
34
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The location in the centre of the city is ideal. The entrance reminded me of a cheap continental hotel with a seventies style aluminium door opened by a buzzer. In a similar way the upstairs reception was tacky and certainly not 5* in my view

Granted I had booked a single room but it was tiny. The bathroom was also tiny and served by a macerator. The shower reminded me of my granny's with old fittings and the drains smelled pretty bad. The bathmat was no bigger than a dinner plate and had shoe footprints on it.

Overlooking the main street it was noisy. The windows were sealed shut and although a portable air con unit was provided it was noisy and inefficient.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a front room if you don't like noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

It cannot be denied that the location of this place is excellent if you want to be in the heart of the action. The room I stayed in was small but had everything I needed.

However, the room was at the front of the building and was VERY noisy until about 4am once everyone had left the bars and clubs and gone home which meant I did not get much sleep. There was also no hot water in the sink in the bathroom and the extractor fan was filthy.

I mentioned the noise to the receptionist when I checked out and she said that nobody had ever mentioned it before and maybe I was a light sleeper (I'm not). I have since seen a number of reviews on another booking website that also complain about the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room that is not on the high street when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Great value for money from this central hotel with very friendly and efficient customer service. Other reviewers I've noticed have commented on the stairs; well if you can't handle a few stairs then how you expect to get around oxford is a mystery to me! All food tastes are catered for by excellent restaurants next door. George street is like the soho of oxford so you will not be disappointed by the area.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

the location is very good...near the railway station and city center.. The ground floor is Jamie's Italian restaurant. Although the room is very clean and comfortable, there is not lift in the hotel...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for our night out. Situated in the heart of all the well known eateries, cinema & theatre district. Beautiful room, but no frills establishment, but this doesn't matter as it is so close to so many places to eat. I felt it was a little pricey for one night, but it was Valentines Day so maybe the prices went up for the occasion? We also weren't there for long enough to really enjoy the quality of the room. The staff that we saw the next morning were very friendly & helpful. Just as a warning, there are a lot of steep steps up to Reception, and more if you are in certain rooms.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Really enjoyed staying at the Bocardo! It was completely fuss free and it was all that I wanted from a short city stay in Oxford.
The room was really clean, tidy and modern. The bathroom even had products from French brand L'Occitane.
Its in the best location, on a busy street with lots of restaurants, we were straight out to Byron burger over the road for dinner!
There was some noise during the night, a thursday night being a typical night out for students! But this wasn't a problem - thats what you get in the city centre!
The only thing which could have improved this hotel, would be having the amenities for breakfast!

Room Tip: If you are a particularly light sleeper then you may want to ask if the hotel has any quieter rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bocardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bocardo

Address: 24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bocardo 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bocardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bocardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.