We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bocardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Bocardo to your Saves list
The Bocardo
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Port Louis
1 review
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Very cozy hotel and right in the centre of Oxford with many good restaurants around.
Ensuite room is very nice with heated bathroom floor and towel rack though a little bit small but clean.Bed is also very comfortable. Pleasant welcoming staff. The only hitch is that you have to carry your luggage upstairs by yourself.
Ruma

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
18
34
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

I have been travelling to Oxford frequently this year to attend classes and this is the best hotel I've tried.

It has the best location being along George St, which is in the center of activities. All you need (restaurants, shops, banks, bookstore, malls, theatre, pubs) is but a few minutes walk away. The bus station to london and to the london airports is only a 2-3 minute walk.

Loved the bed, the flat screen tv with strong signal (a problem in other hotels), the fast wifi (wifi tend to be weak in other hotels) and the L'occitane toiletries.

I also appreciated the attentive assistance of the manager. His advise brought us off the beaten path to unexpected places with breathtaking views. It completed our oxford experience. Best customer service I've ever encountered in an oxford hotel.I regret not discovering The Bocardo early on. Will definitely stay there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

It's a very cozy, nice, little hotel, very well decorated inside (at least my room was) and the bathroom's really nice (it has heated floor, a heated towel rack and althought it might not be very interesting and different for other people, I really liked the style of the shower!). The manager is very helpful and friendly, actually one of the reasons I think I'll be coming back to this hotel next time I'm in Oxford! It's not a bad thing that the hotel doesn't offer breakfast because that gives you the opportunity to try the many different cafes around the town. Also, the flight of stairs isn't troublesome, because if you can get one of the staff to help you, they will gladly.
I'm really glad my dad chose this hotel for our stay, and I recommend to you as well! Have a nice trip to Oxford. It's like a little Christmas town (on Christmas, that is).

Room Tip: It's nice to stay in the room that I stayed because it overlooks the street. You can see the clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Positive aspects: great location, very friendly managers :) nice-looking room, kettle and tea facilities in the room and so on:) everything clean (though kettle might be either improved, either cleaned better); good price for the good room in the centre of Oxford

Drawbacks: it was quite cold in the room (windows can't sustain the wind and cold outside, we stayed in December); there are no sleepers and considering cold floor it was fairly uncomfortable; there is no lift, so if you have a heavy luggage it might be pretty hard to take them up even to the reception;

To sum up, we would choose this hotel again for a short trip (no heavy luggage) when it gets warm considering same pricing:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

After booking last minute for a hotel this one looked very nice, which overall it was. The 'hotel' reception is up a flight of stairs. Friendly welcome at reception and a good explanation of what I'd find in my room.
The room was small but large enough, clean and the bed was good. The ensuite has a heated floor - shower is good and the toiletries are very nice. The sink plug doesn't seem to move up or down at all, bizarre!
One thing I loved is that they include hot chocolate in the hospitality tray - I don't drink tea or coffee and normally have to take my own things. The kettle does need cleaning though.
In summary, a nice hotel for the price with some minor things the management can improve.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Yes, it is not a regular hotel but thats what it is about! a clean and spotless room, a big and warm shower with a floor heating, a very comfortable bed, nice attention to details, a welcoming and helpful staff, very convenient when walking from central bus station and right in the middle of town. many spots for good breakfast near by, loved the one under the hotel.
Would love to come back very soon,
Ravit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is not a hotel, even though it was not clear from the various booking websites. It is a guest accommodation, in other words, just rooms; meaning no breakfast and other hotel facilities. A small door at the entrance leads to stairs. There is no lift, so you have to carry your luggage on your own up the stairs. There is no security or reception staff around in the evening, even though you get a number that you can call in case you need something. The main entrance i.e. a street door, is locked after a certain time and you have to use your card to enter. Also there was really bad sound proofing and I could not sleep properly. I would wake up every time someone was going up/down the stairs or someone would shout on the street. The room even though quite small was cute and clean. There was a shower but no bathtub. Shampoo, shower gel etc. were provided and were of great quality. The personnel was not that warm and helpful. For "just rooms" even though in the center of oxford, it is overpriced. I would not go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bocardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bocardo

Address: 24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bocardo 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Bocardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bocardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.