We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Memorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magdalen Bridge Boathouse - Punting Tours

Magdalen Bridge Boathouse - Punting Tours
The Old Horse Ford | High Street, Oxford OX14AX, England
01865 202 643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 50 activities in Oxford
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always Memorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

A perfect way to get some instant life memories. Nobody is any good at it but everybody wants to have a go. Especially good if you have had a large lunch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Must do in Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Punting tour is one thing one should not miss while visiting Oxford... after visiting the colleges, the museum, it's time to have a boat tour along the river. You can do it yourself but if you lack confidence, you can hire someone (with a fee!) to do it for you, just sit down and relax. It is great fun touring the river in the small boat... though the river water not really that clean these days, yet the scenery is great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pimms and Punting = Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went punting and took pimms with us, it was a wonderful day. We had the man do it for us, as we could see others who had attempted it themselves were stuck or finding it hard. We all sat back and relaxed, taking in the sights. The guy who was doing all the hard work was really chatty and friendly and even posed for a photo. He made it an even more memorable experience. The only downside was that i had work a dress and the wet seat made my bum wet! Wear some wort of shorts / trousers!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fun in the sun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After watching some people trying to punt, we opted for a rowing boat. Once we got the hang of it it was great fun. We were lucky with the weather which helped. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip. The river wasn't very big and I can imagine that during a busy time it could get very congested. Be aware that even though the price was £18 an hour, they require £30 cash deposit and some form of ID leaving with them. (Which was fair but just lucky that we had enough cash on us)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What fun, and a bit thrilling!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Do this if the weather is nice--it is lovely to punt down the Thames. A little difficult, and we were a bit scared we would capsize or fall off, but we survived--it was great and worth it--you can do it yourself or hire a punter for a few more pounds--we did ourselves.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magdalen Bridge Boathouse - Punting Tours also viewed

 

Been to Magdalen Bridge Boathouse - Punting Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magdalen Bridge Boathouse - Punting Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Magdalen Bridge Boathouse - Punting Tours to your Saves list