We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Oxford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Bath
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Good hotel, comfortable beds. Window can be opened though not fully, no air con, but preferable to me. Breakfast not the full works but perfectly adequate and included.
To get int the centre, we found driving to park& ride best. Alternatively, taking the local but is a lot slower, crowded,and you have to walk quite a bit to get to the stop, which could be unpleasant in the dark as walking round the back through green areas populated by the local youths on their bikes, skateboards, etc.
Took taxi back instead that day. Good deal through reception, £10.
Nothing fancy and not cheap, but seemed a fair price for Oxford.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased that you were pleased with the hotel.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    204
    156
    40
    20
See reviews for
94
141
23
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Great stay just outside Oxford City centre. Good acces by car and bus to the city centre only 10 minutes by car. The hotel is a new modern building with good facilities. Fast check inn and check out. Clean and big rooms with comfy bed. Great breakfast is included in the price and free WIFI for members. There is also a big and free parking @ the hotel. Will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It is very uplifting to read such positive comments. Thank you
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Contrary to what their website says, there is no AC in the rooms so be warned if you are travelling during the warm summer.
They are not near the city centre but they have negotiated a decent rate with a local taxi company, 10 GBP.
The room was clean, breakfast was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. We do not have air conditioning in the bedrooms but we do have this in the lounge and breakfast room which is mentioned on our website. Please let me know which website is stating that we have air conditioning in our rooms. my e-mail is:
cmason@epxressoxford.com
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

First time I'd stayed in this chain & was reasonably impressed. Breakfast included in price which was basic but fine. Hotel quiet considering it was full. Main drawback is location, you need to drive or get a cab to go into Oxford or to get anything to eat (the adjoining housing estate which has a bus service one of Oxfords more notorious locations), there is another hotel within a mile but you would need to know where you are going.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lewes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I travel on business and use many hotels especially in and around the oxford area. I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently.

Pro's:

1. The room was quiet
2. The room was clean
3. The price was reasonable for the standard of hotel
4. The hotel was in good condition.

Con's

1. The hotel was overrun by people including a lot of noisy tourists. The room was quiet and became my sanctuary. This isn't ideal if you want a quiet time.
2. Breakfast although included in the price was very disappoint. The cooked breakfast amount to cheap sausages, over-cooked scrambled eggs and beans.
3. The hotel is miles from any facilities with the notable exception of the Vue cinema which I was tempted to visit
4. Food is not allowed in room. I hoped to order a pizza delivery and eat in my room but this was not permitted. This seems childish.
5. There is no restaurant and the area is not rich with alternate options without having a car drive. This needs to be addressed in my opinion as the hotel is in such a remote location.
6. Public transport [bus] is a 10 minute walk from the hotel and takes you through the notorious Blackbird Leys estate. You will see some sights if you choose this option.
7. Otherwise its taxi or car if you want to get to the centre of Oxford.
8. The free WIFI signal in my room was poor rendering the service unusable.
9. The man at the reception was a little abrupt and unwelcoming.


I won't be visiting this hotel again as there are too many cons.

I will however stay at the Holiday Inn on the other side of Oxford if I can get a discounted deal. This is a step-up in quality. Perhaps not surprising.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your feedback. I am sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay. I would also like to thank you for the specific details which we can obviously review.
We discourage guests from eating the take away in the rooms because the foods all tend to be spicey which can leave very strong smells. There are three restaurants inside the cinema building which is 4 minutes walk from the hotel and the Kings Arms pub at Sandford is a mile from the hotel. The wi fi service provider is trying to find a permanent fix to the wifi service which has been causing problems recently.
I am sorry that the public areas of the hotel were so busy. Silverstone was followed by the Game Fair, which brought huge numbers of people, and as a result the whole are has been very very busy. I was pleased to read that, despite the numbers of people your room was quiet and a sanctuary.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our second stay at this motel. Comfortable with a very good breakfast the staff was very friendly, no problems. It was a little out of the way and not within walking distance to much of anything. Both stays there was a tour bus of foreign tourists staying which was no problem but they all wanted breakfast the same time we did. The price was right and HIE quality was as expected.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am pleased that you had a nice stay.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were by no means expecting four or five star accommodation for our overnight stay in Oxford, but it was on par with a Premier Inn and ideal if you're not going to spend too much time where you're staying. We managed to get an ok deal on the price by booking in advance online and doing some research.

The view from the room looked over towards the Kassam stadium, the temperature was comfortable, as was the furniture and the bed, everywhere was all very clean too. We booked a taxi at the reception to go into the town for my girlfriend's friend's birthday, and the taxi was so prompt, we'd only just finished our drink at the bar! We got back at around midnight and were pleased to see that the hotel was very quiet so we both got a very good night's sleep ready for the drive back the following morning.

Bearing in mind at the Premier Inn breakfast or proper wifi are not included, I was not expecting much for a free breakfast. It surprised us though, although it was busy, the scrambled egg and sausages were well cooked, I've had worse breakfasts that I'd paid for before!

It's worth bearing in mind though that I imagine this hotel would feel overcrowded during Oxford United match days seeming as this is right next to the stadium, so it's definitely worth looking up to see if it's going to be match day or if they'll be holding any other major events before booking. If we hadn't ventured into the town there were some conveniently placed restaurants within walking distance that we'd have tried. Overall, we were pretty happy with our stay and if we are ever around Oxford we will bear this place in mind and maybe stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't overlook the car park, as you'll probably hear vehicles comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am pleased to read that the hotel suited your needs. I would just like to assure you that on football match days the hotel is not unduly affected by large numbers of people. We put a chap in the car park to ensure that there are plenty of spaces for our guests to park. Home fans are welcomed into the bar before the game, but visiting fans visit other venues.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.