We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beer, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
40 Holywell Street, Oxford OX1 3SP, England
01865 242369
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 52 Nightlife in Oxford
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Activities: Dining, Drinking
Attraction details
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good beer, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I liked this place mostly because of the decor and the atmosphere. They had a good selection of beers and ciders. I will definitely go again next time I'm in Oxford!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    39
    10
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Staff very rude, unhelpful and unaccomodating. Had heard good things about this pub but big let down. Would NOT recommend visiting.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA 30062
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“One of my favorites!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The food was just so special - very homey but quite tasty. Each day there are many 'specials' and we certainly enjoyed the chicken pot pie (fabulous crust) and fish and chips.

I'm told the beverage (beer) choice is excellent too (I don't drink).

The staff was so special that I wanted to come back again and again! You can hang out for hours if you want!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional pub in central Oxford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was looking for a traditional pub in central Oxford and was not disappointed. We had a superb lunch - we went for the famous ale pies followed by the crumble & custard - the best! We all really enjoyed the meal and the service was excellent.
The pub had a great ambience. There are different areas to sit in and enjoy a good pint or two, with walls decorated with interesting old photos of Oxford and famous visitors.
Overall, a great pub, would recommend it 100% and we will go back on our next visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A proper PUB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Atmosphere and decor are what a pub should be. Food is available, but we didn't feel like we were in a restaurant.
Good location at college end of Broad Street

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.