We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cycle Tour of Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bainton Bikes - Private Day Tours

Bainton Bikes - Private Day Tours
78 Walton Street, Oxford OX2 6EA, England
01865311610
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford is a beautiful city packed full of fascinating and historic architecture, spacious countryside, relaxing rivers & canals and has been (and continues to be) where many inspirational people have called home. We are very pleased to be able to offer our unique and award winning Official Oxford Cycle Tour. Our guided tour starts in the city centre exploring some of the fascinating dreaming spires, before escaping the hustle and bustle of the city centre into the surrounding countryside to ride in the un-touched Port Meadow alongside the River Thames, before getting a taste of the daily lives of past and present Oxonians. The Official Oxford cycle tour has 11 carefully selected designated stops, including a 25 minute refreshment break at the 17th century Trout Inn. A drink is included in the price. At each stop our friendly guides will share some insight into our historic city, allowing plenty of time for interaction and photographs.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cycle Tour of Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went on the tour on Saturday and despite the freezing weather conditions (it started snowing midway through), we still enjoyed a fabulous tour with the informative Becky. The tour is approximately 3 hours long and takes you through the countryside and small hamlets as well as the city itself. With a pub-stop midway through for a quick drink, it is a very well-constructed tour that flows well. Our guide was very well-informed and seemed genuinely interested herself in the local lore and history. The tour included aspects of the city that one might miss if on foot as cycling allowed us to cover distance far quicker and it's nice to feel that you're doing the 'Oxford thing' by nipping around on a bike. Thoroughly enjoyed the day, would heartily recommend this to anybody who is interested in the local history with a twist!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bike tour of Oxford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Husband and I took a cycle tour of Oxford on Saturday with Steve.
It was a fantastic way to see so many sights and landmarks in a relatively short period of time. The whole tour took just over 3 hours. Steve was extremely knowledgable, providing a fascinating and interesting backdrop to all that we saw. He readily admitted that he could say so much more if only time allowed. A place comes alive when someone with so much passion for his subject tells it his way. Questions were encouraged and even welcomed. A relatively easy ride with a very pleasant stop at The Trout, made famous by Morse, for a beverage midway through.
Thoroughly recommend this tour as a way to see the city.
My husband's only quibble was that a sign was not clear indicating who and where our guide was when we first arrived.
Maybe Steve needs to wear a brightly coloured t-shirt with Bainton Bikes emblazoned upon it...sorry Steve

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cycling in Oxford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a great three hours cycle tour of Oxford, in the capable hands of Dave, from Bainton Bikes. They are in Walton St, Jericho, but you are also able to book the tours from the Tourist Information Centre in Broad St, where you meet the Guide and pickup the bikes.
we set off at a leisurely pace, which was just as well as it was one of the hottest days of the year.
Inbetween,ducking and diving down back lanes and avoiding touristsstopping at points of interest, like the pub where J R R Tolkein used to drink with his literary chums.We headed out of the hustle and bustle to Port Meadows and along the river to The Trout Inn at Wolvercote, where a welcome drink was waiting for us.From there we cycled back into the city, through the leafy suburbs, passed Pitt Rivers and back to Broad Street.
It was a great way to see some of the hidden corners of a city you think you know.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Marvelous way to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

With my wife and 3 teenage sons we took a guided bike tour of Oxford. It was a great way to see the City including the beautiful countryside that is part of the city. Our guide was friendly, informative and just a pleasure to be around. We saw the highlights of the city and then later in the week we went back to a few of the places (The Trout Pub and Pitt Rivers Museum) that really stood out as something we wanted to spend more time at. We have active teenagers who get bored looking at churches and museums so the Bainton Bike tour was a perfect way for them to spend the day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic cycle tour of Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I saw tickets for a three hour bike tour around Oxford and thought it sounded like a great idea. So off we went my husband and I and our 12 year old son. We met Steve, our guide, who was just like a very knowledgeable friend. We had a super day and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was a lot of fun.
I shall definitely be booking with this wonderful company again to try another tour- there are many!
Highly recommend- go for it- you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bainton Bikes - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Bainton Bikes - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bainton Bikes - Private Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.