We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, wonderful service a great find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malikas

Malikas
218 Cowley Road, Oxford OX4 1UQ, England
01865 723 029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 513 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Malikas in the heart of Cowley Road offers a unique Indian food dining experience. The restaurant presents constantly evolving menus and a carefully matched wine list - all designed to reflect an ethos of novelty and creativity in a newly redesign dining room.We are unique in spanning a fine dining restaurant serving real Indian cuisines. The restaurant is highly acclaimed and is widely regarded as amongst the best Indian cuisine in Oxford.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, wonderful service a great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stumbled on this indian restaurant by accident and decided to give it a go and how pleased we did. From entering the restaurant we were welcomed by friendly staff which was a good start and it only got better. The menu had all the usuals and also several special dishes which all looked tempting to try. We were not disappointed by the food we were served and could not fault it at all it was up ther with the best we have had over the many years of eating indian food. We shall certainly go back again when we are next in the area so thanks Malikas for a nice evening.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    22
    8
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious, efficient, friendly Indian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We were only in Oxford for one night and fancied a curry. Spotted Aziz on the Cowley Rd as it had awards posted on the door. After leaving, disgusted with the service and manner of the staff, we came across Malikas. A lucky find for us. The food was fresh tasting and delicious, the service excellent and very friendly. If we lived in Oxford we would go there regularly.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Best table service in Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I have lived in Oxford for years and were tired of going to the same places all the time, so one day when we were walking past this place and we thought we'd give it a go on a whim.

There was only one other table occupied, which at first made me suspicious but I genuinely needn't have worried. Both the food and the service were exquisite, We had poppadums and okra to start with, chicken with mince meat and lamb with pumpkin as mains, lemon rice and naan for sides, and almond ice cream for dessert. Everything was delicious, but more importantly, the service was top notch. The staff was smiley, friendly, attentive, the pace was good and the food presentation very appetizing. We were even brought hot towels at the end, very thoughtful.

...and just to top off a great evening, on our way out we were offered a complimentary liquor on the house as a night cap!

Definitely my new favourite place in Oxford!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I have been eating here regularly since the restuarant opened. The food is of a constant high standard and I have never been disappointed. There is an excellent choice of vegetarian dishes. The staff are friendly and attentive. Since it was reopened as Malikas, the prices have risen slightly but the quality of the food and the tasteful decor still make this very good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mk
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quality food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

have been eating here since it iopened and its a great place and the staff are 100%, never had a bad meal yet.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malikas also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Malikas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malikas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.