We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Good home cooked food"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Blue

The Oxford Blue
32 Marston Street, Oxford, England
01865-46-02-15
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #256 of 473 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegetarian, English, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Full restaurant and garden.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Good home cooked food"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great friendly pub with excellent fresh food. Staff were extremely helpful, even when the table wasn't ready when we arrived the waitress was very apologetic and attentive in sorting the matter out quickly.
Would recommend this pub to people who enjoy the finer things in life at reasonable prices and chilled out atmosphere I would defiantly be returning next time I visit Oxford.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman W, Manager at The Oxford Blue, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review!

To start, I'm pleased to hear you had a nice experience with our staff. It's our aim to provide relaxed, yet attentive service at all times, especially when a table is a little behind! And I quite like your turn of phrase regarding the finer things in life. I think it fits well with the atmosphere we provide.

Best,
The Oxford Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    40
    15
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab Place for divine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

An excellent place to visit for dinner with the girls. We were greeted with a very warm welcome in a nice setting. The service provided by the waiters was of a great standard. Food was served promptly and not only looked appetising, tasted amazing. Would reccomend this place to anyone looking to enjoy a few drinks and divine food in a pleasant environment. Yet another place in Oxford to add to my favourites.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman W, Manager at The Oxford Blue, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for the great review!

We're so pleased to hear about your experience and recommendation. Truly, it is our goal for our customers to leave as happy as you all were on your visit. We look forward to hosting again!

Best regards,
The Oxford Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A really good local foodie pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We went there last Sunday after a decent cycle ride and there was absolutely no problem in storing 3 road bikes whilst we had an excellent lunch. I had the chicken liver parfait to start with followed by the roast pork special which was really good. I stuck to cider rather than wine simply because I was in need of liquid and a jug of iced tap water was produced too without having to be asked for. It was on a par with the excellent Magdalen Arms, but perhaps less ambitious on pricing. I was impressed by the suggestions of particular wines by the glass to accompany certain dishes. Give it a try on the basis that it's basically a good local pub with a simple but well thought out menu providing well presented fresh ingredients in a thoroughly welcoming ambiance with clean if somewhat basic decor. Just how I like it - emphasis where it should be.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman W, Manager at The Oxford Blue, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review!

You attention to detail is impressive and very welcome! So glad we could offer you a nice stop-in after your bike ride. Indeed, we always accommodate bicycles in the back or on the side of the pub, as it makes parking a little safer than Iffley Road.

As for the food, so happy you enjoyed your meal! Our chef does a marvelous job with the seasonal fare, so look forward to the new menu coming soon. That said, we also appreciate you noticing our good value. There are many restaurants that offer good food in this area, but we do try to set ourselves apart by setting a reasonably priced menu. Next time, take us up on our wine paring suggestions!

Best regards,
The Oxford Blue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A real treat for Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We've eaten at the Oxford Blue a couple of times on Sunday lunchtime, and really enjoyed it. On our first visit the highlight was probably the scotch eggs made with pheasant eggs; on the second, my roast pork was particularly excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman W, Manager at The Oxford Blue, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
The scotch eggs and roast pork? You've definitely run into a couple of our specialties! Thanks for the review and next time maybe try the Korean lamb; it's a staff favorite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Refreshing Change”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Enthusiasm, friendliness, knowledge, funny- tasty, unusual- all sum up the visit we experienced when we visited this pub/restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herman W, Manager at The Oxford Blue, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for the compliments! We definitely take pride in our friendly/quirky restaurant atmosphere. At the moment, we've all our holiday decorations up too. So, stop by for a Christmas take on the usual fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford Blue also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Oxford Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.