We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vaule for the area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Head of the River

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Head of the River to your Saves list
The Head of the River
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Folly Bridge | St. Aldates, Oxford OX1 4LB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #38 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good vaule for the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here as just really needed somewhere to crash for a few nights whist visiting friends in the area. Its great value, found the bed to be very comfortable and staff are naturally accommodating.

2 snags 1.) was that the brekkie wasn't really great and they need a tweak. [cooked bits underdone, better quality juice/produce and fresh fruit would be nice...] 2.) Website did say rooms came with bath, but actually don't.. (which i upgraded for) however the manager honesty mentioned that this was out of the pubs control due to miss communication with the website and fullers group. So... no bath.. so what.

I would also comment; due to the location of the pub, i could see it getting very busy and thus could be loud at night times.

Nevertheless, I had a great time and like I said its great for the value. I will be back. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    43
    24
    22
See reviews for
38
122
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A very good location easy walk into town.
Rooms are all themed after famous writers well appointed. Nice view from our room which was on the top floor. Breakfast was very good and enjoyed the open fire during the evening

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth In England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at The Head of The River Pub/Hotel middle of May 2013 as we were doing a tour for 6 days with relatives from Canada. The location at first is a little miss leading when getting driving directions as it seems as though you are quite a distance from the City , but you are actually just on the edge , and just a 5 minute walk to Christ College & Cathedral. The Pub is quite old , not sure when it was built but a long time ago , set right on the river with plenty of outside seating , and a cosy atmosphere inside. The staff were all very helpful & friendly. To get to your rooms you go up a tiny staircase ( No Lift ) the staff did offer to carry any cases but we managed ok ourselves. The rooms were clean & nicely presented , but being an old building the floors do slope in different directions , beds very comfortable & clean. Breakfast you had a small choice of cereals , juices , the Full English breakfast was cooked to order which was great plus you had some other choices as well. Being a Pub we thought it would be noisy but this wasn't the case. Parking is limited to a couple of spaces and has a tight access. We stayed 17th to 19th May 2013 , the only let down was we thought £153.00 per room per night was expensive , but I guess you way this up with limited Hotels in Oxford and it's location.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which is right at the top overlooking the bridge and part of the river , our friends s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Head of the River for 4 days as I was in the area on business. I required somewhere close to the city centre with parking and this ticked both those boxes. From the moment I arrived, Stuart, the landlord and his assistant Martin did everything to make my stay as comfortable as possible. As the weather was fantastic, the bar and restaurant each day was very busy however the service was above and beyond what I expected. All the staff were friendly and very helpful and could not do enough to ensure my stay was a pleasurable one. My room had everything you would expect and I cannot fault the attention to detail and cleanliness of it. Although there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room, you can call down at anytime and have proper tea or coffee delivered freshly to your room which in my opinion is far better than a kettle and a sachet of coffee as you normally get. In fact coffee/tea as with water is complimentary at all times even if you drink them in the bar area. As for breakfast, well this for me was the highlight of my day. You can have it served in your room if you choose or in the restaurant/bar area. There is a large selection to choose from and although it takes slightly longer than a conventional hotel buffet to prepare, it is prepared freshly to your liking and only the best quality ingredients are used. I also ate in the bar/restaurant and found the food was always cooked and presented nicely. I would certainly return to The Head or the River both on business and certainly on pleasure. Having stayed at other establishments in the area, I can say that for service, attention to detail and a warm friendly welcome, Stuart and his team cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

The location seemed nice and the menu appeared to be okay. However I was expecting freshly cooked food but instead got a very poor 'quick pub meal'. Tasteless. Not impressed. Never seen 'straight' calamari like that.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here during a very busy May bank holiday. The bar and restaurant were bursting at the seams but that didn't stop the staff from being very helpful and friendly. I didn't know that you had to book the car park but they still took time to help me out with this. We had lunch and drinks at the bar upon arrival and were politely warned about a long wait for the food but they kept our drinks topped up and the lunch was well presented once it arrived. The rooms are all themed around notable Oxford scholars and the one we stayed in is named' Sir Christopher Wren'. It was fairly well appointed with lots of character, lacking only a tea making facility but some great views over the river.
If you want to take in the sights and sounds of Oxford this is a great location and good value. The shops are just a short walk away and a riverside stroll is right at your feet. If you don't fancy walking you can hire a punt or a motor boat from the hire company next door. Fortunately we were blessed with great weather and hired a motor boat for a spin down the Thames which was well worth it. Really enjoyed our stay here and may well return.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and don't forget to book the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We decided to stay here because of the closeness to the city and it's river side location and despite some very variable reviews. We booked direct in order to guarantee one of the limited car parking spaces, which is a real boon so close to the city.
We stayed on a bank Holiday weekend for 1 night, so our impressions are reached when the hotel is well stretched / chaotic. We found that the staff were always welcoming and pleasant and were a credit to the establishment, always appearing to have time and a smile for the customer despite the surrounding activity.
However the catering provided let the side down. My wife was served under-cooked pastry, cold mashed potato and overcooked vegetables when we ate in the late afternoon and although the hotel offered to exchange the meal, the fact was that the food was allowed out of the kitchen in the first place was deplorable. At breakfast we were given a drink then waited 15 minutes to be given a menu followed by a further 30 minutes to be presented with our food and were not offered toast. When it arrived the poached eggs were over cooked and the rest on the cool side of warm. This lack of attention to detail with the food quality is a real shame because of the considerate staff and the thoughtful presentation on the plate. I can only assume that they simply either could not cope with the demands of a busy bank Holiday weekend or had staff issues or an inexperienced chef, but that is hardly the client's concern..
To move on to our accommodation, our bed room was small but well appointed, had a very comfortable bed and a lovely twin aspect view over the river. It had good quality toiletries in the large bathroom which had a powerful shower but again, strangely, no shower cap. The room didn't have tea / coffee making facilities, yet another odd omission which I would normally expect.
Would we return / recommend the Head of the River? Well for it's wonderful position with parking and acceptable bedroom standard, yes. But as a venue then to eat, well sadly, no. Depends what you are looking for in a venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Head of the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Head of the River

Address: Folly Bridge | St. Aldates, Oxford OX1 4LB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Head of the River 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Head of the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Head Of The River Hotel Oxford
Head River Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Head of the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.