We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Newton House

Newton House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Newton House to your Saves list
Newton House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82-84 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were staying here for two nights and were a disappointed with the room we had. It was small with a small bathroom, however it was in a very good location with an easy walk into Oxford city. Our hosts were very easy to get along with. The breakfast was excellent. Whilst they do have on site parking it can be very tight

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
29
50
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We enjoyed being able to walk into the city center from this hotel, and it was great that the hotel had a carpark, though small. Management was helpful and allowed us to keep our car for a few hours after checkout while we toured the Ashmolean Museum (always a hit with my family). The breakfast was quite good, and probably the highlight of our one-night stay there.

I must say, though, that this B&B was the least appealing of the four hotels we stayed in that week. Our rooms were clean but small and dark, and the decor in our double room was a little creepy--with a pink mohair coverlet on the bed and a huge japanese-lantern-style lamp above the bed. And (to my knowledge), there was no common area to just sign down and relax in. You're either in your room or you're having breakfast in the basement. It just wasn't a very comfy place and I would think it would be hard to spend any amount of time there.

Room Tip: No lift, so be sure you can carry your bags yourself if you get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and myself had a lovely time here. The staff was helpful on arrival. We had arrived early, so we left our luggage at the b&b and set off to town centre. On return to the hotel, later in the eveing we could not wait to hit the bed. The rooms were cozy which resulted in a good nights sleep. Clean and hygienic. Breakfast was really good. Hospitality of team was lovely. It is a 10 mins walk to the city centre which is not a problem, helped me burn my calories. There is a convenience store right outside. On route to the city centre there are 4 restaurants and pubs which also provide punting, motor boat experience etc. To summarise, I recommend this b&b.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This place is simple and decent. It's a bit far down the road away from city center. You will have further to walk but there are no crowds of tourists. Two nice pubs nearby. Room was clean and nicely appointed. The breakfast was huge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed at the Newton House on a business trip. Unfortunately I found the B&B to be quite run down, especially in the communal areas. The bathroom was modern and clean but the bedroom was full of old furniture and smelled a bit musty. If you do stay here ask for a room at the back as it is on a main road without double glazing. The staff were mostly friendly and the guy who greets you and shows you your room is very kind but my requests to meet an allergy I have at breakfast was not met despite being provided at time of booking and it was difficult to order an alternative as there is no breakfast menu. The breakfast mentioned on their website wasn't what was available. Inconsistent unfortunately and in need of some TLC and a bigger breakfast room so all the guests can sit down! However the location is great. If you can get a cheap deal on this B&B, then I don't think you would be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 nights in mid May 2013 at the Newton House. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good with cold and hot food. The parking in the rear was a bit of a challenge because twice we had to ask people to move their cars as we were blocked in.
The location was excellent in Oxford to visit our son.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for one night on a Saturday, emailed Friday to arrange check in time and arrived within that time.
We were met by a friendly gentleman who gave us info on Oxford and asked about what we had done so far.
The family room was at the front of the building overlooking a busy road, but we were not disturbed by traffic noise or talking.
The room was large with a double,single and single bed settee and was clean and light.The ensuite had a shower which when i figured out how to work it was hot and powerful.
Good breakfast plenty of choice served by pleasant staff. Would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Address: 82-84 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.