We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hideaway on the edge of town that offers good value for money, clean and spacious rooms, and pleasant staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Marlborough House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marlborough House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   321 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 7NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Tokyo
1 review
“Perfect hideaway on the edge of town that offers good value for money, clean and spacious rooms, and pleasant staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This was my second visit to this hotel, and from now on I will always stay here when I visit Oxford. This is an inexpensive place to stay on the edge of town, yet the staff are warm and friendly. I am tall and the rooms are roomy with high ceilings. There are modest kitchen facitlites in the rooms and there is also room service. All in all, it is a nice, well maintained place that sincerley wants to delight its customers.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    104
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
66
80
37
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We loved this place - a large Oxford house in easy finding. It was efficient, friendly and very welcoming, and extremely comfortable - all those little things that aren't so daft, like heating adjustability, bed quality and the bits and pieces that came with the fridge (like real coffee, fresh milk and juice).
But what really made this different for us was the 'kitchenette' including fridge (most impressive and important to Aussie husband!), and microwave - well and thoughtfully equipped, which meant that for the very reasonable B&B price (and good breakfast it was, served to the table in our own room) it didn't become a mission or expense in 'staying away'. We came with a M&S microwave dinner, wine, chilled out, and really felt as relaxed as if we were in our own home.
I can't think why anyone running a hotel has not thought of this concept before.
Bravo - or brava!

It was lovely - thank you, and for the price, magnificent.
Nicky Moller

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashton under lyne
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Had a great time and were made to feel very welcome. The location was perfect for us - we could walk to Oxford centre but as the hotel is situated on the main road into Oxford there is plenty of transport available. The room was spotless. A bonus of a full english breakfast, beautifully cooked which we could have in our room at no extra cost ! This was brilliant as we didn't have to bother getting washed/dressed before facing other diners at breakfast. We had our on table and chairs and a kitchenette with fridge and microwave. We were also provided with free milk, fruit juice jams etc... Excellent! We are booking again for January 2010 and will be frequent visitors as our daughter and family live in Oxford. Best place we have stayed in Oxford and good value too. Couldn't be better. Have told everyone about it - highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

The hotel is very pleasant and we were made to feel welcome by the staff. It is on one of the main roads into Oxford so is relatively easy to find and it has the bonus of having some parking spaces - a rare find in Oxford. With the bus stop right outside we could hop onto the bus and were then in the city centre within 10 minutes.

The rooms we had were on the ground floor and were very spacious. The hotel has no central dining room and the bedroom is more of a studio apartment so has a dining area and a small kitchenette holding the milk, cereals, orange juice etc. A cooked breakfast is delivered to your room. The room was nicely decorated though the bathroom could do with a little more colour and lighting.

There is a mini bar in the room with a reasonable choice. It is not cheap at about £19.00 for a bottle of wine.

All in all I would recommend the hotel for a leisure or business trip.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

We were very pleased to have a room with kitchen facilities. The fridge was stocked with complementary milk and fruit juice which was a nice surprise.
The room was clean and fresh.
The breakfast arrived on time and the staff bent over backwards to be helpful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

We were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room and the generosity of the breakfast serving. Everything was clean and kept that way. The staff were very helpful in every way. A dry cleaning service was available. We would have appreciated an on-site laundry, as we had been on the road for a while. Parking was available but limited. We had to park on the street one night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

We were very pleasantly surprised to have not only a nice room but with kitchen facilities too. The fridge was stocked with complementary milk and fruit juice.
An unusual idea to have breakfast served in the room and the owner went out of his way to prepare an early breakfast for my husband who was leaving earllier than usual to catch a train. Nothing appeared too much trouble and we will definitely stay again when in Oxford.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marlborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House Hotel

Address: 321 Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marlborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.