We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place & excellent breakfasat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burlington House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burlington House Hotel
Save
You added Burlington House Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
South Wales
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great place & excellent breakfasat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a great stay here recently. The hotel is on one of the main routes into Oxford centre, so very easy to get into/out of town by bus/taxi or as we did walk (30 mins). Breakfast was very nice with most (if not all items) home made or locally sourced, very tasty. Malcolm was very helpful and friendly. Would certainly go back if we are ever in the area and would have no problems recommending it.

Room Tip: May be keep away from the front of the house near the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    66
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
156
29
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Nes operates this B&B and is the most attentive, helpful and friendly fellow you will ever encounter. We were placed in a 3 room annex off the courtyard which proved to be very modern, quiet and convenient to the breakfast area. Service was superb. Unfortunately the room was very small by American standards which made it impossible to unpack our suitcases. We did not get to see the rooms in the main building which has 3 stories. Although not in city center, a nearby bus made it very easy to get to city center and other nearby attractions.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our room was decorated superbly and it was very clean and cozy room. The bed was really comfy, and the bathroom had heated floors! Good price, good location, great host. The breakfast was divine! Had gluten free bread too! I have nothing to fault on this place. highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We just had a lovely weekend staying at Burlington House. Everything about this hotel was excellent; the room, the location, the breakfast. The breakfast is by far the best I have ever had- no over cooked eggs, no greasy meat and no dodgy beans. Instead food cooked to order, home cooked bread and homecooked granola- amazing!! Other reviews have said it is a busy road BUT we had the tripple gazed windows open and had no problems. There are limited places in the dining room and car parking space BUT we did not have any promlems with this. I cannot praise this hotel enough! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed for one Saturday night on a hot weekend in May. Having spent the day in the Midlands, we wanted a place to stay in Oxford before a Sunday shopping trip to nearby Bicester Village. Bicester, incidentally, is within half an hour's drive of Oxford, straight up the A34.

I booked the room a few days in advance and although not cheap (well over 100 pounds), I thought the hotel sounded nice, the pictures promising and for a last minute booking, was fine.

The gentleman who answered the 'phone (Nes) was personable and polite and I was happy to put down my card to hold the room on a non-refundable basis. Fair enough, especially on what was going to be a busy weekend for stays in Oxford. I also understood when booking was that ours was a little pricier due to it being the last room available and one of the larger ones.

Location of the hotel is good and there is parking for three or four cars just outside, off-street. There is a bus stop within 50 yards on the main road and it apparently takes about ten minutes to get into Oxford Town Centre.
As it was, we spent the evening in nearby Summertown which was a 5-7 minute walk. Selection of Chinese (we recommend Xi'an where we went), Indian, European or Grill style restaurants and a charming little pub called The Dew Drop Inn where we started the evening with a drink in the beer garden behind.

On arrival, Malcolm was very welcoming and showed us our room (10, downstairs near the front door). It was quite big with modern décor, clean sheets and an interesting 'pod' style bathroom that seemed to have been built into the room. Everything was clean and as expected. If I am completely honest, I thought everything was good but not great..not sure if that was accentuated by seeing the 5 star AA rating on the sign outside...and for the price we paid, which wasn't cheap, I guess I was expecting special rather than fine. For example, little touches like having more toiletries apart from the standard small bottles of shower gel and shampoo...things like moisturiser and more upmarket brands may have been (unfairly) on my expectations list.
All facilities were adequate with coffee-making facilities in the room, TV of course, free Wi-fi and even a bottle of water - which we only noticed as we were leaving having bought bottled water the night before!

Despite being near the front door, we weren't disturbed as such by people coming in late or even the next morning by the breakfast room which was effectively opposite our room.

Breakfast was good. It must be mentioned here that breakfast had an hour's serving time , at least on a weekend that we were there, from 8:30-9:30.
Malcolm prepared and served a good farmhouse style breakfast and was attentive througout.

We left happy and sated and ready to tackle a busy day of shopping.

Check-out time was also a rather early 10:30 although that didn't bother us as we were heading out around that time in any case.

Overall, an enjoyable stay, good hosts and a nice comfortable sleep followed by a good breakfast.

For somewhere that is not exactly cheap though, I would say this place is very good..just not great and which differentiates a 4 star rating from a 5 star TA review.

To be clear, I would certainly recommend it though!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Coming from the States, it is not always easy to know "where" to stay. We used TripAdvisor comments, along with needing to be near Oxford, and found this location. Everything about it was amazing, and it was the best place we stayed, including London! Wonderful breakfast, and Nes, the host, takes AMAZING care of his guests! The bus to Oxford is just down the block, and from the town you can take another bus to London. The rooms are great, we had a king bed on the second floor. The windows open, and even with the street noise, it was lovely to get the fresh air.
We would certainly stay there again. NOTE: They are going to be doing some expansion of the hotel this year, so find out about that before you make a reservation, so you won't be surprised!

Room Tip: The larger the better, especially if you have some work to do in the room, or are from the States an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I loved my stay at the Burlington House Hotel. Oxford, by its nature, sets a certain standard, which Burlington House lives up to. Nes is a great host - welcoming and friendly. The rooms are comfortable, the amenities first-class, and the breakfast? I don't know that I've ever had such good homemade bread! All in all, a perfect place to call home for a few days.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burlington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.