We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless, comfortable,friendly and convenient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burlington House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burlington House Hotel
Save
You added Burlington House Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spotless, comfortable,friendly and convenient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nes seems to be a One man Band in the B&B and runs it very well! From booking to leaving, it was a painless and enjoyable experience. Most comments seem to include the excellent breakfasts, which we happily endorse. Summertown is close enough to the City centre to be a short bus ride away, but the local area has some interesting shops and (important to us) good eating places a short walk away.
I would happily recommend this B&B to my family and friends, as well as to passing visitors.This visit was with my sister, but now we know of it, my husband & I shall be staying there quite soon.We both appreciate good showers, cleanliness and a warm welcome and these were all there, "in spades", as they say.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    68
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
29
159
29
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My daughter and I were finishing a 10 day trip in England with a few nights in Oxford and booked Burlington House after reading a write up in the NY Times. It is rated as 5 star by the AA (England's AAA) so we expected quite a luxurious accommodation.
As other's have written, the location is in Summerfield, convenient and a short walk to some nice restaurants and a short bus ride from Oxford, though we chose to walk into and out of town one day and it was maybe 30 minutes of exercise each way. If you'd rather a bus, they seem to come every 10-15 minutes so leaving your car in the Burlington off street parking is really the way to go.
We got to the B&B to check in later than I had hoped to (got lost) and Nes greeted us with a rapid fire download of how the place operates, where to go, what to see, where to eat and headed out to the gym. Our room, #7, was a good size with two twin beds facing the street. There were large windows and despite the triple glazing (three panes) we could still hear a good bit of noise from Banbury Road where the B&B is situated.
As others have said, the rooms are tastefully appointed, beds very comfortable and ours was quite bright with the shades pulled. However, it was hard for me to ascertain why this place was rated with 5 stars and others we had stayed at were 4 stars. As this is a townhouse, understand you will be bringing your bags up and down stairs so don't pack too heavily!
We tried one of Nes's recommendations for dinner that night and he knows what he's talking about...if you have any questions about where to go or what to do, ask...he can help you.
The next morning we discovered the reason for that 5th star...breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade bread, free range eggs...bacon actually cooked properly and to order! Want cereal? They make their own granola...yummy and their own yougart...heavenly. We ate everything! This was the only B&B we stayed at where we were offered a menu in the morning and offered a choice of something cooked for us...we tried the full English breakfast one morning and omelets the next. Everything they source is organic...local produce if they can get it. We left every morning with a big smile on our faces (and no need to eat until dinner)!
As we spent a couple of days here we found Nes to be one of those high energy, always on the way to do something sort of people, but once you corralled him, he was happy to help with plans and directions.
We enjoyed our stay and maybe next time will try a different room for a change of pace.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building face busy Banbury Road which takes you into Oxford, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B in a great location, the host was great - very friendly and helpful and gave lots of useful local information. The room was really nice and breakfast was really good as well. I've paid a lot more to stay in much worse places! Burlington House was great value for money and we had a very enjoyable stay, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The owner Nes could not be more helpful and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for his welcoming and caring attitude, without being fussy or nosey. A perfect balance of host and concierge.

A beautiful house tastefully decorated, with large and comfortable beds and a powerful and hot shower. Spotlessly clean and very cheerful housekeeping colleagues. The fan in the room was a nice touch in the heat.

Tasty granola and home mad bread, a wonderful spread at breakfast.

Summertown is a short walk away and the Oxford Wine Cafe was fun to catch up with friends in.

Do stay here, a real treasure.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a huge bed and was a spacious room. The mirrors were well placed to maximise light and il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent four nights here and though it wasn't a holiday visit and had its share of stresses, we came away feeling relaxed largely due to our visit to this hotel. Both Nes and Malcolm were very helpful and made us feel very much at home. Our twin ensuite was a spacious room with a sparklingly clean bathroom and a strong shower..and the most comfortable bed of any hotel we've been in. My mother's single room upstairs was perfect for her. The breakfast was even better than we all expected..and we ate way too much and enjoyed every bit of it! We even left our car in the space on the premises for the duration of our stay and enjoyed walking into Summertown or Oxford. In short, we are very glad to have stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraga, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We only had a one night visit to Oxford and we were very happy with our choice of the Burlington House. Nes greeted us with enthusiasm and provided with very useful information about Oxford and how to use the buses into town center. As parking in Oxford can be very difficult this was valuable insight. It is only a 10 minute bus ride from a bus stop in front of the hotel direct to the center of Oxford. A short walk from the hotel to Summertown one can find restaurants and pubs without having to look in Oxford.
Our room was a good size (top floor) and the bath/shower was modern and roomy. No problem of low water pressure that can be a problem in some B&B's/hotels.
Breakfast was ample and a hot option is available to your choice.
Overall, a great stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator so if you have difficulty carrying bags up perhaps 3 flights of steps ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The owner of this hotel, Nes, is all about making everyone's stay wonderful and does anything to help you enjoy Oxford. The staff are accommodating and helpful, and everything is kept to a high standard of cleanliness. Breakfast is as you like it with hot food made to order, and they make their own granola (yum!) and yogurt (delicious). Very hospitable and helpful! Location in an easy to access location by bus or 20 min walk to downtown. They were very flexible with payment as I used two different cards for business. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burlington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.