We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asthmatics BEWARE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Burlington House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burlington House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Oxford
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Asthmatics BEWARE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Before choosing where to stay in Oxford, I did my Trip Adviser reseach and therefore booked with the Burlingston House as it was quite well reviewed. Upon our arrival we were asked if we wanted to pay to upgrate our room from a small double to a larger one. As we were only staying for one night we didn't mind a small room. It turned out that our room was located outside the main house in what looks like an old garrage building turned into rooms. We entered the room which looked like the photos on the Hotel's website. Neat and with new furniture.
HOWEVER what can not be seen from the photos is the smell. Despite the fact that it was August the room was icy cold with a thick smell of damp and mold in the air. Upon a closer look we saw the mold growing in the room as well as the bathroom.
We stayed in the room a total of 1 hour, where we rested on the bed, tired from a long drive. During that hour, my breathing became harder and harder. I'm and astmatic and staying in this room caused me to have a major astmathic attack. After about an hour my breathing was really bad and we asked to change rooms, We were moved inside the main house to a bigger and warmer room without mold (exept from in the shower).
I would not recommend anybody staying at the Burlington House. Though the rooms in the main house are probably all fine, the simple fact that they would rent out the room we were first given is appalling!! They should be reported to the Health Department. The rest of my holiday was ruined, because of one hour in that room. So beware!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordInsightful, Manager at Burlington House Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

Customer feedback is obviously crucial to our business to ensure we're constantly improving.

Thank you for bringing the decor to our attention, we'll ensure this is dealt with immediately so that no other guest experiences the same problem.

I'm sorry you felt the room was indequate. As soon as we were aware of your discomfort we moved you to another room. We take pride in ensuring our guests have a comfortable stay and are upset you felt this wasn't statisfactory.

We hope that you are feeling better now and will come back to see our newly improved room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    61
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
148
26
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I've stayed here multiple times over the last few months. The fact that I keep returning is testament to the standard you can guarantee from the Burlington. The guy that runs it couldn't be more welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated.......guaranteed a great night's sleep:) It's 5 minutes to Summertown which has some great restaurants. And the breakfast is yummy!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last week with my wife after she had read a good review in a travel magazine (sorry can't remember which one)
We opted for one of the delux rooms which was actually the same room which had been photographed in the magazine review.
Our room was on the ground floor and normally I'm not a fan of groundfloor rooms in B&B's as I don't like to hear people walking about above me, however I must confess I had a great nights sleep.
The roof was nicely decorated with a drench shower and bathroom installed in the room in what can best be described as a pod (its better than it sounds), the bed was very comfy and the breakfast was very tasty,all the staff we encountered were courteous and professional.
The location is great with summertown just a five minute walk away with some nice restaurants and bars and Oxford just a quick bus ride away (much cheaper than parking!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This B&B came recommended by Trip Advisor, so we booked ourselves in for three nights for a (relatively) cheap place to stay in Oxford near the city knowing we wouldn't have to worry about the quality of our stay. We would most likely stay there again, if we were to visit Oxford again, so I recommend it. We had one of the annex rooms, accessible outside via the garden, which was very modern and comfortable.

The positives:
1. Breakfast is fantastic - for a B&B this is outstanding, with a very interesting menu of cooked foods. (I recommend the gruyere omellete)
2. Decor - the rooms are modern, up to date, well furnished, although a little cramped perhaps. The mattress was superior, very comfortable sleep, and very good quality bedding.
3. Atmosphere - The B&B had a wonderful atmosphere, with a very friendly and accommodating host.
4. Plenty of provision for tourists - a small reading room contains masses of leaflets and menus for local attractions and restaurants, some within a short walk of the B&B itself.

Negatives:
1. The walls are paper thin - remember this is a B&B, so the walls are not designed to be sound-proof in any way. Out first night was ruined by inconsiderate guests in the neighbouring room who talked and played music until the early hours (not the landlord's fault, but we did try calling Reception on the room phone and got no answer. In the end we had to take matters into our own hands with said guests)
2. Paying of the bill at breakfast? - We, as were many other guests, invited to pay the bill whilst we ate our breakfast. Most unusual, and although it could be argued it's convenient for all, it was certainly a little unusual. I wonder if the landlord had seen many guests disappear without paying recently?
3. A little distant from the city centre - not really walking distance, but the bus service is excellent. Buses every 5 to 10 minutes throughout the day well into the night, from a stop virtually right outside the B&B.
4. Twelve rooms, four parking spaces - on-street parking is limited to residents on Mon-Fri.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 10, 11 or 12. These are a small set of three rooms built in the garden of the property...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Italy
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This property is very well managed by a friendly and efficient owner. Hotel and rooms are nice and uptodate. Location a bit far from city centre, but there is a bus stop closeby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentveld
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The reviews and the promise of "5 star accommodation" could not be fulfilled. True, the breakfast was abandunt and of excellent quality and the manager was kind and polite towards the guests. In the small public sitting room a collection was available of the menus of at least 10 restaurants in the vicinity, plus plenty of informative brochures of activities taking place in the Oxford area. However, the daily presence of the manager to ask questions left to be desired. One could perhaps, after the early breakfast hours, knock on the door of his private apartment for enquiries, but guests are mostly apprehensive of doing this. Most disappointing was the size of our bedroom, which was approx. 4.50 x 4 m. while the double bed was not much wider than 1.60 m. with one duvet cover for both. The bathroom was even tinier and offered, especially to the ladies, little room to spread out their make-up articles and "do their things". In summary: we found the accommodation not good value considering the already rather high rate, which was increased by another £10 per night because of the Silverstone Grand Prix taking place on the Sunday. As we arrived on the Wednesday before, this seemed a bit like taking unfair advantage as the event was taking place 4 days later. On the positive side: the house was clean and the manager helpful. When mailing him with a request to send us an amended invoice, as we had failed to ask for our company address to be included, he immediately obliged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed recently for one night when viisiting Oxford for a function. The Burlington deserves all the praise that has been heaped upon it and we would like to add to that.
Service was faultless, room extremely nice and the best nights sleep in a hotel / B & B for a long time.
Choice of breakfast was impressive and a lot of thought has obviously gone into this.

Nes you need to slow down or you will 'burn out' before we are able to stay again.
this man is without doubt a machine - he misses nothing and his attention to detail is outstanding.

Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burlington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Burlington House Hotel to your Saves list