We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel - really good breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burlington House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burlington House Hotel
Save
You added Burlington House Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Shrewsbury
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel - really good breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in June. Our room was left open for us when we arrived as I had previously rung to explain we may be a little late. Our room was out in the courtyard. Inside was spotlessly clean, good bed linen and the bathroom was nice.
Our room was very small but we were told that it was one of the smaller rooms when we booked (and price reflected this) so not a problem. There was enough wardrobe space and tea and coffee etc all available. The room was great for us as we were only there for 2 nights and out all day but if you're visitng Oxford for any longer then you may want to ask for a larger room.
Breakfast was great (try the marmalade omelette), really sets you up for the day and really tasty and the hospitatlity from the manager was spot on.
The only reason for 4/5 not 5/5 were a couple of full and dirty ash trays out in the courtyard left for a while and we did have to wait in the small sitting room for breakfast one morning. However, I do not like to be picky (equally, I never mentioned this whilst we were there so no opportunity was given for it to be sorted out) and this hotel is good. It's reasonably priced for Oxford and it's a short and easy bus ride into the city centre. I try to be honest when I write reviews and in my opinion, this was a decent, comfortable and clean hotel with a bit of style and character and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Small rooms in courtyard are good but the bigger ones in the house i imagine are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    66
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
27
156
29
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The service at Burlington House is absolutely fantastic, the host Nes is contactable at any time from what we could tell, if he is out and you call it will automatically go through to his mobile. The welcome was effervescent and energising with Nes keen to help with as much information as possible to make sure your trip is as wonderful as possible. The breakfast was superb, it starts with freshly homemade bread being delivered to your table, followed up with delicious homemade (to Nes' secret recipe) granola and fruit. I'm not one for granola, but my girlfriend attests to the brilliance of it. Then comes the cooked breakfast with a breakfast menu to choose from. The bacon, well it's not your regular type that has been pumped full of water and wafer thin, it's thick cut, and almost like a piece of gammon. The eggs, made to your liking which is perfect, and can also elicit a few laughs in the dining area when ordering.

The double room was perfect. The space has been ideally organised for just the right amount of room. The shower was fantastic, and the bed very comfortable. The tv even makes a welcoming sound when you turn it on, that's the lengths that Burlington House go to! It's nice to have a small lounge available and the garden is very pleasant to sit out in. At no point did we hear other guests when we were in our rooms, no sound of footsteps or disturbances, so when you shut the door you know you can fully relax.

The B&B is perfectly situated, about 10 minutes bus ride to the city centre, and with a day rider two can pop in and out of town a few times a day for around £6 if you get a group day rider. The city of oxford is fantastic and a perfect place to visit for a few days, we stayed for three nights and had a fantastic time. Close by is Bicester Village a designer outlet which is a pleasant trip out to as well, and again thats around £6 for two to get there and back. The restaurants are fantastic, we visited Pierre Victoire (perfect) La Andalusa (i think) and made several trips to G&D's (home made ice cream cafe). All three were very memorable and the waffle sundae at G&D's has to be tried!

The accomodation was perfect, exactly what we wanted, it was perfectly situated and there is loads to see and do in Oxford, if your thinking about it, just do it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed here for a weekend away with my boyfriend in January. The manager made us feel very welcome and greeted us with freshly squeezed orange juice. The room itself was beautifully decorated and spacious. It was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was great too. Breakfast was a real treat, homemade bread, fresh juice, a choice of cooked breakfasts made to order. The location is pretty good also, there are a lot of buses running directly outside straight in the town centre and it is only about a 10 minute trip. I highly recommend a stay here and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Opt for the king sized en-suite if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Quite possibly the lovliest hotel we have stayed in, the manager could not do enough to help us from arrival to departure, top top service & nothing was too much trouble!
Cannot recommend this hotel enough....we will certainly be going back!!
Full marks!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

The manager, Nes, provides a very high standard of service and is busy providing local information, checking guests in and out and serving wonderful breakfasts with professionalism and courtesy in this 12-room establishment. Our room was excellent, with high quality bed linen, a very comfortable bed, a desk and casual chairs. The ensuite bathroom was modern, well provisioned and all was immaculately clean and uncluttered. A fan was thoughtfully provided for the warmer weather.
Breakfast was excellent. There was a buffet of cereals and fruit and fresh bread was offered while hot breakfasts were prepared from a good selection of dishes that were well cooked and presented.
Off-street parking was provided on-site. It is a 25 minute walk to the town centre and local buses run frequently from almost outside the premises. Nes also provided detailed information about free parking in the city in the evenings, which worked well.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colac, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Don't get me wrong, we had a pleasant stay at Burlington. The room was comfortable (if small) and the breakfast was nice. Having stayed at many B&B's and guest houses, I do not believe the Burlington deserves its rating. The host was welcoming but only after we had been told what we 'couldn't ' do....arrive after a certain time, contact him in the evenings etc etc. Service provided by him was over zealous and did not seem sincere. He was quick to tell many guests how busy he was and how many errands he had to carry out therefore why they had to be out of the breakfast room by 9.00am. A breakfast timeframe like this may suit travellers who are working, but those on holidays who may enjoy a lie-in are unlikely to want their breakfast at such an early hour. As I say, it wasn't a 'terrible' experience but there is much better in Oxford......do your research and don't be swayed by the over effusive reviews.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordInsightful, Manager at Burlington House Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We are sad to hear that your experience was not what you expected. We strive to ensure all guests have an exemplary stay and we are sorry you didn't feel that you stay was.

We will take your comments into consideration to ensure we always provide the best service whilst still providing a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Having stayed at The Randolph in October 2010 and left feeling that the hotel's 5 star rating is somewhat overrated, for our second trip to Oxford my partner and I wanted to stay somewhere that was comfortable, had free parking and offered good value for money. The reviews that I read about Burlington House raised my hopes of having found decent place to stay in Oxford. I am happy to say that I was not disappointed. From the warm welcome, accompanied by a glass of complimentary, fresh orange juice it was clear that we were in for a quality experience.

Nes is an excellent manager and strikes a happy balance between friendliness and professionalism. He was very informative and helpful - assisting us with booking a taxi to a restaurant outside Oxford on our second day. The hotel and its grounds were clean and spotless throughout. Its decor is chic and contemporary - putting many "grander" hotels to shame. The breakfast is as excellent as all the reviews say. The homemade bread is absolutely delicious - I don't usually eat bread but tucked in with gusto!

The hotel's location is perfect. Within 25 minutes walk of the city centre and only 5 minutes from Summertown which is a lovely area that we particularly enjoyed exploring. Despite being on quite a busy a main road, we had no problem with noise at night

The Burlington is a gem that I will recommend to friends. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#3 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burlington House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.