We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average pizzas, bizarre flavours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atomic Pizza

Atomic Pizza
247 Cowley Road, Oxford OX4 1XG, England
01865 248200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 492 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: An out of this world, some may say unique place for dinner. Come and feast your eyes and bellies on this retro pop culture pizza pad.We are related to the fabulous Atomic Burger, just down the road with a bit more space (and a fab party room)As Bones McCoy once said..It's Pizza Jim, but not as we know it
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average pizzas, bizarre flavours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

To be fair, service is excellent and the decor is fun as you'd expect.

The pizzas I found to be overpriced, and haven't found a great combination.

My friend did the Godzilla challenge. Don't do it. The pizza looks like it's been constructed in a wannabe McDonald's (cheese singles on top included). The Godzilla is disgusting.

None of the pizzas look like they use particularly fresh or good quality ingredients, but if you're going for atmosphere / a one off you may like it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    38
    21
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great (gluten-free) Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is great anyway - serving delicious Italian-style pizzas and scrummy burgers - but they also do really good gluten-free pizzas, homemade with a recipe that the owner spent several months perfecting, and it really shows.

The staff are really friendly and the place is decorated with 80's retro cartoon/pop culture decor (like the sister restaurant Atomic Burger, just down the road), which is lots of fun.

If you want gluten-free pizza, you are advised to phone ahead and book, as they only make a few each day (although this shows how fresh the pizzas are).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Trying too hard?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've eaten in this restaurant since it was La Capanina, then Fratelli's and now Atomic Pizza. Sadly, since it became Atomic, I think it's lost something.

There is a wide range of pizzas available, all based on some sort of TV/Film theme. You can also get burgers (veggie, chicken or beef). The pizzas and the burgers are good, but never really excellent I have to say. The burgers are better, but then you could visit their sister restaurant Atomic Burger a bit further down for that.

Pizzas toppings and mixes of toppings are varied - and you can make your own - but the base is a bit stodgy and makes the food feel very heavy. Flavours are good though.

The atmosphere is quite, erm, 'studenty', and I think this is the key market they are going for. The previous incarnation (Fratelli's - the same owner) had a better menu and feel, in my opinion, and the lack of other Italian dishes on the menu was a mistake.

I have to say the service is very good, always friendly, and if I'm in the mood then Atomic is as good a place to go and certainly better than a lot of pizza places in Oxford.

So it's good, but it could be better. I will probably go back, but had it still been Fratelli's with their menu and ambience, I'd go back more often.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere was great and the staff were very attentive. Great food would go again in a heartbeat! What a quirky place!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oxford's Quirky Little Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

What a great restaurant! Went there on Wednesday (27/3/13) with a group of close friends and we were wonderfully impressed! The style of the place is very geeky-friendly, excess amounts of film/video game/ comic book memorabilia line the walls, floors, ceilings etc. The food is excellent and fairly priced for what you get! (less than £10 for a large enough pizza for two, I would guess 12 inch) Wonderful atmosphere, super helpful and friendly waitresses! Wicked music, plenty of 80s alternative/rock classics! Great selection of food and drinks, pizzas, burgers, fries, milkshakes, beers, soft drinks! Easily my favourite place to eat in Oxford!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atomic Pizza also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Atomic Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atomic Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.