We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Position” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Uckfield
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Position”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This hotel is perfectly situated for visiting Oxford, plenty of on site parking at no charge, a 10min walk along the river past all the university rowing buildings, spend an hour watching the rowers practicing is very enjoyable, as is watching the hire punts being piloted by complete novices
The room we had was dissapointing, the bed was hard & small considering it was a double, with the 2 of us the duvet was not big enough, the tv was far to low so you had to sit up in bed to see it, I am being picky but they want to call it 4 star they need to get it all right
The breakfasts were excellent, evening meals were also very good although the wine was expensive
Would I recomend this hotel Yes

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    342
    198
    63
    19
See reviews for
120
365
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

everyone from bar staff,reception, to cleaners were always friendly. We were given a room with a balcony, table and chairs - it was just a shame that the british weather stopped us from actually using them, but it was a nice touch.
the hotel is a 10 min walk from the city centre but again because of the weather we used the excellent bus facilities, there is a stop outside the hotel and it seems the buses run every 2-3 mins.

we did not manage to do everything we wanted to in oxford on our long weekend (as there is so much to see), but due to the friendliness and location of the hotel in particular we will be back and will stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a part of 20 for my mother-in-laws 70th birthday. It was the first tiem that she had all of her grandhildren and children together and was a suprise. After months of planning we booked the 3 day bed, breakfast and dinner option.

The location was fantastic. A 10 minute walk along the river brought you into Oxford centre. The food was reall good quality and delicious. The wine selection was great. The swimming pool was great for our troop of kids, but the changing room could do with a little refurbishment.

The most important thing that made the weekend such a success were the staff. They were fantastic in all areas. They helped to make the weekend a special and joined in with our sense of fun and suprise. We couldnt thank them enough.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

There's nothing extra special per se about the hotel or the rooms, but it is above average, with standard rooms and amenties for a weekend break in Oxford.

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night in order to see the evening performance of the Riverdance farewell tour. We were driving to Oxford and wanted somewhere that's close enough to Oxford but would not have problems with parking. After doing some research and finding that B&Bs a bit closer to the centre cost around £80 per night with restricted parking, we decided to go for this at £87 (after Quidco cashback) a night without breakfast.

Our first impressions of the hotel were good. There was a wedding going on, so the car park was almost full, but we didn't have any problems finding a space. Check in was quick and easy. We found the hotel reception area a bit over-heated and stuffy, thankfully this wasn't the case in the rooms as there was air conditioning. Our room was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and adequate (even though a bit bare). There were tea and coffee making facilities available, with plenty of coffee & tea bags, as well as biscuits. The hotel also offers free wifi, and you can ask for the login details at the reception.

Location-wise, the hotel was very easy to get to/from the city centre by foot. If you didn't want to walk, there were frequent buses, with the bus stop just outside the main entrance. There are so many food options in the centre so not having breakfast included wasn't a problem.

If we visit Oxford again, we would definitely consider this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

The location of this hotel is perfect. Around 10/15 minutes walk along the river towpath to the city. The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. Very friendly and helpful receptionists. Swimming pool very nice and free wifi. What more could you ask.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Felt like a 1 star hotel. Old rooms. poor beds. Everything could be heard from the room beside.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Was told about the Four Pillars chain by a friend so was looking forward to our stay.
Check in was hassle free, although was surprised to be given an old fashioned key for the room. This lock was very stiff, so every day was a struggle to open the door !
The room was pleasant enough, but having travelled around the world to places like Dubai, I would have hardly rated this a 4 star hotel.
Children's beds were ready and made up as requested, although my husband and I had 2 single beds pushed together to make a larger bed ! ummm interesting !
Had dinner for all 3 nights at the hotel, and the food looked fantastic. Kids ate free which was a real bonus. The only downside was the poor vegetarian choice for me.
Swimming pool was nice, kids loved it. The jacuzzi was lovely when it worked - had to complain to the boy at the desk who turned it on manually, a regular member of the gym told us it never worked and the hotel knew this ! One morning we waited 45 minutes as no one was on the desk, so we called reception ourselves from the desk phone only to be told the boy did not start work until 11.30 am !!!! What if something had happened in the pool ?!
We did have a lovely time as it was my husbands birthday, but the hotel needs reclassifying as 3 stars as this is very misleading.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.