We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best--not the worst, either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Not the best--not the worst, either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip to Oxford.

Overall, the hotel will do just fine, though certainly nothing extraordinary. As has been noted by other reviewers, I also noticed that the rooms were in need of a renovation, but to be fair, the bed is okay and I personally think that is the most important part! Plenty of hot water in the showers. Cleanliness OK. I thought the price okay for the location, really. An easy 10-15 minute walk to downtown oxford and shopping/dining. I previously stayed at the Oxford Mercure and this was certainly a better hotel for the money (I also reviewed that property).

The hotel has a pool and fitness area. The wierd thing about the locker rooms and pool area was that there was a really bad smell there. It smelled like body odour and smelly farts--I had to get out. It was like there wasn't any ventilation at all and the smell had built up. I also though the general cleaniness in the pool/locker room area left a lot to be desired but maybe I caught them on a bad day. I did use the gym and it was pretty well equipped--no complaints there (but I went back to my own rooms for a shower rather than use the locker room showers).

After reading the reviews of the food I was expecting the worst, but I thought the breakfast buffet to be good (I didn't eat dinner there though)--though not cheap at 13 pounds.

To sum up, not the best, not the worst. Hope the smell has improved in the pool area.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    342
    198
    63
    19
See reviews for
120
365
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
robtt
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2008

Having read the latest reviews we were a little worried about what we may find.But all was well.We stayed half board for 3 nights.The evening meal was very good for the price..limited choice but well cooked and hot.The staff were uber friendly and could not be faulted...especially Tiina (from Finland) in the restaurant.Everywhere was clean and the bed very comfortable.so good value all round

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

I just came back from a 2 night stay at The Spires, and thought it was a lovely hotel. The room was spacious and immaculately clean - I went with my Mum who is quite a clean freak, and even she didn't have any complaints! The beds were really comfy and the shower was awesome - some hotels I've stayed in in the past have had rubbish pressure / water too hot or cold etc but this was perfect. The staff all seemed nice and helpful. The hotel is in a brilliant location about a 15 min walk from town and looks really beautiful from the outside.

The pool, although not large, was great, nice and warm and clean, also not too busy. The jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were lovely too. I had a massage in the Beauty Room which was soooo relaxing and fairly reasonably priced.

The only drawback is that check in was at 3pm, which was a little late for us but they offered to keep our luggage in a holding room until we could go to the room. We just went for a spot of lunch and then returned at 3.

We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant as there are tonnes of places to eat in town, so all I can say is that the menu seemed quite pricey but no more so than other hotels.

All in all a great hotel in a fab location!!

  • Liked — Great location, spacious clean rooms
  • Disliked — Late check in - the only reason I didn't give it 5*s!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

Comfortable hotel in good location within easy walking distance of centre but room a little past its best.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — slow service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

I stayed at the Four Pillars about two weeks ago for business. While the hotel itself is not extraordinary, the location is great as it's within walking distance of the center of Oxford. Rooms were clean but on the small side. Front desk clerks were either wonderful or awful, depending on your luck. After a 12-hr journey, my co-worker was told she couldn't check in because the line of people behind her (waiting to check out) was too long. ??? The clerk told her to come back later. Luckily, the courteous clerk assisting me caught on to what was happening and checked both my co-worker and me in. Not much of a concierge service either (it's a ring binder filled with internet print-outs), but again, with the location, you can walk about 4 blocks to everything.

If you're looking for something luxurious, this is not the hotel for you. But if you're looking for clean, simple and safe at a reasonable price, this hotel will definitely work.

  • Liked — Able to walk into town.
  • Disliked — Lack of amenities.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Lovely hotel in great grounds and with good bedrooms.

Welcome was friendly and receptionist was helpful and got us checked into our rooms early.

Bedroom and ensuite bathroom was a good size - only slight compliant was that we had a disabled bathoom so the sink was a tad low and the toilet was a tad high! No problem though really.

15 minute walk into the City Centre - so easy to get around.

  • Liked — Proximity to City Centre
  • Disliked — Breakfast wasn't included in room rate
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

Booked a two night half board stay here with family to celebrate a birthday in Oxford. It's a nice hotel which lets itself down badly, shame really.
Pro's are a lovely setting, good location (15 mins walk or 3 mins bus ride from Oxford town centre, with the bus stop opposite the hotel. it is impossible to drive and park in Oxford so get the bus!), clean, pleasant and quite spacious rooms and overall a nice feeling to the hotel
Con's are diabolical restaurant service (shame because the food was pretty good, when it eventually came that is!), not enough facilites for the number of rooms (we were told it was a quiet weekend but still couldn't get in the pool, the restuarant busy for dinner and breakfast and there are 4 tables in the bar for 200ish rooms!) and ridiculous payment system where every person I saw checking out was compaining about the bill (ours started at £600, when we questioned it went UP to £800 then finally dropped to the correct £200).
Overall it's an nice place, I'd suggest eating and drinking elsewhere though

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.