We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We booked a spa break as a group of five. We expected dinner, bed and breakfast, a twin room for two and a suite for three people, spa access and a massage or facial. The last item was the reason we picked this hotel. After booking but before arrival that the treatment would be unlikely to happen unless there were cancellations, as the spa, which is run separately from the hotel, was fully booked.
On arrival we were shown two twin rooms, on separate floors, with the third adult expected to sleep on the sofa bad. This looked very uncomfortable and was not made up, also there was only two of everything in the room. On enquiry the sofa bed was made up - it had a cheap thin mattress and none of us fancied sleeping on it. A bed on wheels was found, which was tiny (it was narrower than the door and shorter than normal - suitable for a child) and made up with thin bedding). We had to ask more than once for the full complement of mugs, glasses etc. We felt our anticipated spa break was not really living up to expectations but the only response from the desk was that there were no suites available nor triple rooms and that they were very busy due to a large wedding party. We were offered complimentary drinks and were not charged for the wine with our meal which was something. The staff were helpful but they did seem pretty clueless/ not very well trained. The waitress's wine recommendation came with a label saying 'Kung Fu Girl' and was almost undrinkable. The breakfast waitress was totally confused by an order for kippers from the menu. Should the man making up the room helpfully produce packets of biscuits from his trouser pocket?
The most galling things was that there were posters all over the hotel advertising dinner, bed and breakfast for less than half what we had paid for our non existent spa break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    389
    221
    66
    20
See reviews for
132
428
30
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Spires for a conference and found it to be well equipped with a good standard of cleanliness. The two negatives were that on arrival the young man at Reception(possibly Gabriel) was not very welcoming.In fact if we were just asking for a room without a booking we would have been put off by his attitude and not stayed. Correcting my husband on his pronunciation of the Conference title was not a good idea especially as my husband is a member of the refereeing committee and probably knows how to pronounce it properly.We were told our room would be ready in 20 minutes and that he would come and find me in the Bar area. After 45 minutes I went to ask and sure enough the room was ready.We can only think that he is maybe from Paris as their attitude is well known.Eery other member of staff we encountered from cleaning staff upwards was very polite and helpful. My second negative was in the sauna area where I would prefer to see someone using a mop to clean the floor rather than scuffing a towel up and down with their feet.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed for a Saturday night with my Mum and this was a wonderful choice!
We had a twin Conisseur room which was fantastic- a balcony overlooking the meadows, 2 big sofas, complimentary drinks in the fridge and loads of space to relax.
We had dinner in the Deacon restaurent (friendly helpful waitress, a good choice of menu at £21.95 for 2 courses) and coffee in the lounge afterwards with a pianist playing. The hotel was hosting a Spring Ball and a wedding but there was no noise or overlap of guests so we didn't feel pushed out as can often happen,

The hotel has a lovely looking pool and spa but we didn't have time to use it so I can't comment.

Breakfast the next morning was a standard buffet but plenty of choice and very attentive service, particularly the "seater" who made great efforts to find us a good table.

No downsides apart from 1 teeny one - the checkout queue at 11am on the Sunday morning was huge, They need more staff here!

We left and went for a walk along the Thames towpath, watching the rowers, whcih was right beside the hotel

Great location, great service and very good value for money I think

Room Tip: Room 209 was the tops!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been there in feb 2013 for 3 nights, not bad at all, even if the Four Pillars is maybe better.
Bed is comfortable, food is very good, and personnel is nice. we have spent a nice evening in the bar as well, prices are not as sky high as usual and the bartender was very nice.
The outdoor is definetely amazing, but rooms definetely need some refourbishment, especially the bath thub.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ideal location to walk into Oxford. The overall look of our room was pleasant, the bathroom was clean with good hot water. We had a 2nd floor room overlooking fields which was nice and quiet. However two very big negatives. The beds - the worst I have had in a hotel. Basically like sleeping on a large spring frame. I'm only slightly built and it hurt my ribcage too much. Spent part of the night in the chair. As far as I'm concerned a good night is the most important thing in a hotel and this failed miserably here.
Other negative is metal framed windows and a radiator too small for the room. Both of us were cold all evening despite the heating being on it's maximum setting. After being cold all day in Oxford it would have been nice to get warm and relaxed. At least the spare duvet came in handy as a leg warmer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A good chain quality hotel within walking distance of the city centre.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with views of nearby fields.

Breakfast and dinner were ok if you don't want the short walk to the city centre for more choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We had paid more to stay in the small cottage alongside the main hotel, but upon arrival, there was a decorator in the stairwell of the cottage painting gloss on the door frames of each room. The smell of paint fumes was so strong in the entire building that we had to go back to reception and ask to be moved. The receptionist at this point was fantastic and did all she could, moving us to a room in the main hotel. However, this room wasn't ready when we went in and they realised this, sending someone from housekeeping to finish the job! Dinner was awful, food very dry and tasteless. Breakfast was much better. This place is ok, but we will not be returning in a hurry, that's for sure!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.