We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcrowded, overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel to your Saves list
Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
CORVALLIS
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Our stay at this hotel was completely spoiled by the hotel being crammed to the gills with guests staying overnight at Christmas parties. Consequently service was appalling, parking absolutely impossible and nothing was pleasurable. The cost for this stay was expensive without providing any of the small luxuries that one has come to expect in a high-priced hotel. Any city-centre hotel would be preferable to this self-important, stuffy hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    389
    222
    66
    20
See reviews for
132
429
30
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great Hotel, lovely rooms, great customer service, would highly recommend.
Booked the Living room package which entited us to two nights bed and breakfast, a meal in the hotel one night and a £20 voucher off a meal at the Living room in Oxford the other night. The food throughout the weekend was outstanding. (The hotel facilities leisure club, spa were also included in the rate) I still can't believe how good a deal this was! Easy bus route in to the city centre or £4 in a taxi.
The staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for you - a credit to themselves and the management.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my 2nd visit to the hotel, a year after my first, and it did not disappoint. The service was superb with every member of staff encountered - from chambermaid to bar staff, all going out of their way to engage in conversation. Friendly, efficient and polite I could not fault them at all. The restaurant service was also wonderful, orders promptly taken and served. We were aware that several staff were new and in-training, yet even this was done with the minimum of fuss and did not affect our service. Breakfast was a varied feast and empty dishes quickly replenished. If I had but one complaint - it was that I hadn't booked for longer than 2 nights! Well done Oxford Spires.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

If you need a clean room with friendly staff, parking and proximity to the centre, this hotel is fine.
But you pay a lot for that. Even in London, you can get the same quality of room for a lot less in a Premier Inn. I'd recommend paying a bit more and going for one of the central hotels with more style (Old Bank, Malmaison)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langen, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Not soundproof - Walls are very thin and you can hear everything from the adjacent rooms or from the hallway
The bed was ok but not really comfortable
Interior seems a bit old, should be refurbished

Good:
Size of the room and it was clean
Staff was friendly
Breakfast is ok, nothing special
Great parking

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Four Pillars Hotle last weekend and was pleasantly suprised. The staff were very helpful and attentive. The location is only a 15 minute walk from the town centre and it is a pleasant walk, you can either go via the road or walk along the riverbank to Christchurch college. The room was just what we wanted and they put us in a quiet part of the hotel which over looked the fields, although we did have a problem with the key card as it kept on failing so we had quite a walk back to reception each time. The breakfast was great and you had a lot of choice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a weekend break at the Spires. We paid for an upgrade which was £25, and we had a mini bar ( 1 small red wine, I small beer, 2, small cokes and 2 water ) waffle dressing gowns ( which I would gave expected anyway ) and supposedly better quality toiletries ( this was a joke as all we had was 2 tiny shampoos/body washes, one tiny body lotion and a small bar of soap!! ) after our first shower before going out all the products had been used, there was no hair conditioned or any other extras
Our room was 'nice' but very dark with dark wood furnishings and no central light, only lamps making getting ready difficult as you couldn't see properly. The four poster bed was a bed with 4 pieces of flimsy wood nailed on, the mattress very hard and sprung and the pillows were like rocks
The bedding was clean and the towels were fluffy and white, but housekeeping was generally very poor as we had hairs in the bath and cobwebs on the bedroom ceiling plus mould around the bath, the walls were in need of a good clean/paint as there were numerous scuff marks throughout the room
The reception staff were very polite and helpfull and the position of the hotel is perfect for going into Oxtord either using the river walk or road walk ( approx 15 mins )
The hotel is a bit tired and old fashioned and I would definitely not rate it as a 4 star
The breakfast was adequate, but the room where breakfast is served is like a bus cafe!!
Tables are crammed in so tightly it was like entering a maize attempting to work you way around and back to your table... By the time you did get back your food was cold!
Sunday lunch was good for meat eaters, but for pity's sake.... Vegetarians also like a roast, and when will establishments ever learn that we eat but roasts etc 'with' the veg
I am sick of being offered pasta or curry for a Sunday lunch when I would also like a roast but non meat. A lot of points are deducted because of it!! Our friends joined us also for lunch and my friend also a vegetarian,was disappointed with the menu
The hotel is in a great position, and I might stay again if the price was right, but would possibly try another hotel in the area in future

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel

Address: Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Spires 4 Pillars Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Spires Four Pillars Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.