We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oxford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Otley, West Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We used this as a 1 night short stop off in Oxford. The hotel was easy to find and well positioned on the outskirts with park & ride bus service adjacent to the property. The reception staff were excellent. Rooms clean and well equipped. Their bar is a little pricey. The breakfast was buffet style and OK to good but I prefer cooked fresh and served to the table.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent review following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive constructive feedback and I do hope that you visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    286
    135
    31
    18
See reviews for
132
220
30
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Average chain hotel. Nothing outstanding or lacking. Clean, regular staff, good parking. You know what to expect so there are no surprises. Good continental breakfast. Close to area we had to go to.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us - we do offer a full English buffet breakfast along with all continental items.
Thank you again,
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I was visiting Oxford Business School a few minutes taxi ride along the A34, and stayed here one night. The location is excellent as you're not affected by rush hour traffic 4 miles outside the city, but with good city centre access if you need it.
Despite being right next to a major roundabout and the A34, the hotel is very quiet.
The staff are friendly, efficient, and helpful. The restaurant has a good menu selection - I had an excellent locally produced rump steak. Breakfast was the usual HH offer, but with plenty of seating and staff.

Room Tip: Definitely no traffic noise on side overlooking reception and the Travelodge competitor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review. I am very pleased that you liked the Hotel, location, staff & facilities and that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Thank you once again,
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural Cambridgeshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was handy for the a34, being right on the roundabout, and with a travellodge next door, a waitrose, Bp garage and Starbucks in the service area, all within a one minute walk.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, beds comfy, and it was quiet. The breakfast was ok, with good quick service on the whole. I didn't eat an evening meal here - I needed to work in the evenings, so used places in town with free wifi. I didn't ave chance to try the pool either.

The downside of this hotel is that it us 20 minutes out of Oxford city centre- the park and ride is close, and convenient, but it feels like city centre prices are charged for a very out of town hotel. And there is no free wifi here- anywhere! For a business hotel this is frankly unacceptable.

On the whole, no frills, but fine for business. But if you are looking for somewhere to stay o enjoy beautiful Oxford, you can probably do much much better elsewhere.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you liked the Hotel although a little disappointed with our 'out of the City' location.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nights at this hotel as we were visiting oxford university college. the rooms are clean and spacious with fridge.staff were pleasant and efficient. on arrival we asked for an iron and ironing board this was brought to the room with in minutes. it has a pool area which was good after travelling. hotel is approx a15min bus journey from the Center of oxford. Bus stop park and ride a short walk.
Only complaint wifi charges.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive great feedback regarding the staff and their friendly and efficient service.
Thank you once again and I hope that we can welcome you back to the Hotel in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

My company booked me in to this hotel. It's about 4 miles outside of Oxford but very easy to get to with the park and ride. Takes about 15 mins by bus to reach the park and ride and then it's a short walk to the hotel which is near a petrol station/ service station.

The staff are really good here. Even though due to a computer crash check in was long winded but not the staffs fault.

Breakfast was included in my company rate and was a fantastic mix of hot and cold buffet.

My only real niggle was that for the price you pay for the room it doesn't include free wifi. Even the smaller sister company holiday inn express offers that.

So if you want to get out of a very busy city then this is the place for you

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and location and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
Thank you once again and I hope that you visit us again in the future.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a contrast bettween the stunning city of Oxford and this boring hotel. I guess I was a bit disappointed that my business colleague didn't book us anything more interesting, I would never have booked thisn place. My prejudices were born out, it is a boring place to stay. Not that there is anything really wrong with it, but you won't be rushing to return in a hurry, that's for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed that our Hotel is not central to the city of Oxford and appreciate your feedback.
Regards,
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oxford hotel is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. Holiday Inn is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track & M4 motorway. The hotel offers a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking, the hotel is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our hotel family rooms can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. All family rooms are supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds are suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Not forgetting Kids Eat & Stay Free* (*Terms & conditions apply)Packages available for: Blenheim Palace, Cotswold Wildlife Park & Bicester Village. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds. The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.