We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, with easy access to Oxford city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oxford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel, with easy access to Oxford city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel was exactly what you would expect from Holiday Inn, friendly welcome on reception, nice room and powerful shower (I agree with a previous reviewer that the towel are quite small - prob only downside I can think of).

We stopped for 2 nights and used the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room both mornings. If you are there saturday morning, go swimming before 10 as there are childrens swimming lessons afterwards. Still space to swim but a few kids around.

Hotel has plenty of free parking, and park and ride 5 mnins walk from hotel costs £4.50 return for 2 people into centre of Oxford. Times of buses are really regular and we used the last bus on Saturday night, which was at half 11 from the city centre.

Hotel next to services, which has a waitrose shop, starbucks and KFC

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and have shared your comments with the team who appreciate such complimentary feedback.
I do hope you return to Oxford when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    260
    127
    28
    18
See reviews for
117
198
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I booked this hotel for myself and my wife after looking previous positive comments here.
However, my experience was far from "positive".
It is true, thought, that the hotel is located at convenience location, and easy to get to city centre by public transport. Also, the hotel offers free car park.

The check-in was excellent, quick and efficient. When I finally found my room, there were 3 empty wine bottles and half-filled pint glass at the front of our room. I believe that housekeeper forgot to collect it after cleaning, but it was not a good start.
The room looked very nicely decorated and clean. When I entered into toilet, I found damaged bath-tab cover. It looked very unprofessional, and could cause scratching your skin.
Also, there was a large clear visible unknown stain on the bed base. I do not know how housekeeper missed it. See attached photos.
I sent an email with photos to them nearly a week ago, but no reply so far. I believe they do not care about the findings.
The hotel charges nearly £200 if you have NO reservation (booking in advance is much cheaper), and charge nearly £16 for hot breakfast if you book a room only.

I was very disappointed, and will stay at another hotel next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am glad that you liked the hotel, however really sorry to hear of the wine bottles left outside your room. I apologise for the fact that you did not receive a reply to your email, I will investigate this and ensure that a response is actioned.
I do hope that you will reconsider and visit us again whereby we can restore your faith in Holiday Inn Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombwell, South Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Great hotel, location not rural, but great facilities within 5 minute walk of park n ride into Oxford.
Staff friendly,helpful and hotel very clean. Spa and pool facilities with excellent beauty parlour.

Only minor gripe, towels very small and not too soft either.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments regarding our Hotel, facilities and staff are very much appreciated and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit.
Your comments relating to the towels have been noted and our Head Office are investigating the introduction of bath sheets.
Thank you once again for your review and i hope that you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for trip to see Harry Hill.
Despite long que at check in with one staff member on the desk we were greeted warmly and found staff helpful. The park and ride made access to the city centre very easy. The hotel facilities were good and our room was clean and well kept. However on our return in the evening the sofa had been converted into a bed which was rather odd. However having called reception this quickly rectified. Breakfast was great with a good selection and again good service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback left on Trip Advisor following your visit to Oxford. I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and facilities and that the staff were helpful. I am sorry for the misunderstanding regarding your sofa bed and pleased that it was rectified efficiently for you!
Thanks again for your comments and I hope that you visit us again in the near future, when we look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Spent less than 12 hours here so only a brief review. It is a £10 ride from the city centre by taxi or £1.70 by the bus to the nearby park and ride. Easy to get to.

It is a standard business type hotel but equally fine for leisure travellers like ourselves. Room was bigger than I expected for a hotel on a main road service station and contained everything you might need. Bath with shower over; tea making facilities; good lighting in room. Pillows were a bit firm for my liking but we arrived very late so did not get into the pillow menu stuff; they will cater for your choice of pillow.

Hospitable check-in and everything worked efficiently. Nice man at check-out who asked how we had enjoyed it, and when I answered with rather a banal "it's fine" asked me to rate the stay on a 1 - 10 scale. All done pleasantly and I felt someone was actually interested in my opinion.

I would stay here if visiting Oxford but would need to take account of prices compared to city centre hotels which would be more convenient. (Remember to include car parking when making that comparision!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Oxford and was pleased that you liked the Hotel - albeit a brief visit! I do hope that you choose this location again for future visits to Oxford when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night before visiting Bicester for shopping. We stayed in an executive room and was well worth the price. The room was clean and we enjoyed a quiet nights sleep. The 'curtains' (wooden shutters) in the room were amazing and let no light in - even at 10:30, did mean we nearly missed check-out but was definitely worth it. Overall, an excellent and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments following your visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback, which I have shared with the whole team.
I hope you enjoyed your shopping and look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in January. The warm welcome made the treacherous trip through the snow worthwhile. Hotel is located right next to the park and ride so we left our car for 2 days while we bussed into Oxford, only £2.40 return off-peak and the buses run until after 11 PM. You can get a timetable online as well as a map of all the stops. We had booked a room upgrade and our room was large and quiet - but not sure how representative this was as not many people had braved the snow to get there. The breakfast was great and porridge, eggs etc made to order; the waiting staff were very attentive and really seemed to want to help. The fitness centre is spacious and well equipped - did not try the pool. Wouldn't hesitate to book here again when visiting Oxford.

Room Tip: We booked a room upgrade on the top floor which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford - thank you for braving the snow to visit us!
I am pleased that you liked the Hotel and location and do hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oxford hotel is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. Holiday Inn is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track & M4 motorway. The hotel offers a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking, the hotel is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our hotel family rooms can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. All family rooms are supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds are suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Not forgetting Kids Eat & Stay Free* (*Terms & conditions apply)Packages available for: Blenheim Palace, Cotswold Wildlife Park & Bicester Village. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds. The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.