We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Oxford to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Oxford
Norfolk, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Easter Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

We satyed for an Easter Break, my husband, me and our son. The hotel was very clean and the reception staff very accomodating, especially the duty manager. The room was very clean bright and comfortable, and so was the bathroom. We faced the hotel entrance room 122, so we were disturbed by the coming and goings of people departing and arriving at the hotel by inconsiderate talking and car doors banging! The shower was nice and powerful unlike some hotels where its almost like standing under a drip! The swimming pool etc was lovely but it was full of children which was to be expected. our only complaint was that we booked dinner on the Saturday evening only to be told it was cavery only when we booked in, it wasn`t anything special and I would prefered to have a bar meal which had a better menu. We were not told when we booked it was cavery only, please check! overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Liked — clean and tidy nice staff
  • Disliked — carvey
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    129
    231
    112
    27
    17
See reviews for
104
174
24
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We stayed for a weekend on one of the frequent deals where two nights B&B, with dinner on one night, are included within the package price.

This is a modern hotel, and is in good order, with everything working and clean as you would expect. The rooms were comfortable, the breakfasts huge, and the dinner was a self-service carvery.

We made good use of the on-site swimming pool, which was a good size with the usual complimentary towels etc.

The hotel is within 5 minutes walking distance of the Peartree Park and Ride, and so it is a very easy journey into the centre of Oxford with all its many attractions.

We were very pleased with our stay, and will certainly return.

  • Liked — Location, meals, and the pool
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

I stayed overnight for a course in Oxford as it compared favourably on price and facilities with the college accomodation I could have taken.

Very easy to get to using Park and Ride from city centre though the 2 minute walk from the bus stop wouldn't be much fun on your own in the dark.

Service on arrival was efficient, if surly. The desk was very quiet even when I checked out so everything was done pretty quickly.

Room was spotless and a good size with the usual corporate hotel facilities all present and correct. It's a very new hotel so everything was in good condition. Only complaint was that the hot water wasn't very hot - you certainly wouldn't have been able to take a bath.

I used the pool which was good, just busy with families at that time of early evening. Had some bar food and a drink which was fine.

Overall a positive experience and it offers really good value against the pricy town centre hotels.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, convenient
  • Disliked — Grumpy receptionists
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

We wanted a quick place to stay on our way up to the Cotswolds. I was planning to book a Holiday Inn Express / Travel Inn, but when I saw this new Holiday Inn was available for just £69 I thought we’d go for this as it should be a bit nicer.

That said, this hotel is only just a step up – it is still in the middle of nowhere, effectively on a motorway service station. This was not a problem for us, but for someone visiting Oxford itself this may not be ideal. The main advantage for us that it had room service, since we were arriving late and tired and just wanted a quick snack. It was delivered quickly and the quality was fine.

We got upgraded to an executive floor room – I don’t know if that made the room any better, but it was perfectly nice. Everything was clean and the bed was actually very good. Clean bathroom with nice powerful shower. The internet is wired and you have to pay extra for it (as is still the case with most UK hotels unfortunately!). There was a wireless connection from the lobby, but we couldn’t quite get it in the room.

I didn’t take any pictures because our room looks exactly like the photos on their website!

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2007

Why is it so bad? Let me count the ways: 1) A sullen, disinterested check-in clerk who clearly decided that since I'd booked my room on Priceline she didn't need to greet me or show any courtesy at all. 2) A nickel and dime attitude to every charge from the expensive breakfast, nasty, greasy food, to the $30 a day charge for internet access. 3) Cheap towels, no washcloths, dirty shower curtain, moldy tiles in bathroom, chintzy tea tray, a total of three hangers, a clogged toilet and a hair dryer that can't be removed from the drawer so you have to dry your hair bent over the desk. 4) Broken phone, no hotel directory in the room, loud patrons leaving the bar at midnight. 5) Rude, rude, rude service from every single employee. 6) Poor location for access to Oxford. 7) Zero comfort or hospitality so that being here is more like serving a sentence than enjoying a relaxing, warm, comfortable hotel. Horrible and upsetting to realize I have two more nights in this nasty place. Don't come here.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

I normally write reviews about bad experiences to help to warn other travellers, I realised that this may give me the profile of a winger, so I decided to write also the more pleasant experiences in future.

We had to be near Oxford for a morning wedding and decided to do it the lazy way by staying there overnight, thus avoiding morning rush hour traffic. The hotel was very clean and pleasant, both in terms of the room and public areas. It was recently rennovated with an attractive contemporaly look. It was also very easy to get into Oxford, we only realised on the way back that there was a park-and-ride next to the hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of hotel dinner, a notch above the usual bland hotel food.

Overall, the staff was helpfull except the first one I met at the check-in. I asked if I get an up-grade as a Platinum member and she said yes as a matter of fact and gave me a pre-prepared key on the ground floor. I more senior looking staff overheard the conversation and asked the first one to give me another room on the top floor. It seems that the first one was only paying lip service to me.

  • Liked — Convinient location (when with a car), clean modern hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2007

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay as somewhere close to Oxford. It is located just off a main road and in a service area, and is really close to the park and ride.

To be honest, I wasn't really expecting much but was really surprised to find a bright, clean and modern room which was as good as many in far more expensive hotels. The facilities were good and, considering the proximity to the road, it was really quiet due to the triple glazed windows.

The facilities in the room were good and the presence of a fridge for guest use a nice touch. Nice sized tv and clean bathroom, and on the whole a good place to spend a night, Breakfast in the morning was really nice with a good selection of food and not at all chaotic when we went in,

On the whole, would recommend this to anybody wanting a nice place to stay near Oxford, without the extortionate prices of staying in the centre.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oxford hotel is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. Holiday Inn is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track & M4 motorway. The hotel offers a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking, the hotel is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our hotel family rooms can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. All family rooms are supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds are suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Not forgetting Kids Eat & Stay Free* (*Terms & conditions apply)Packages available for: Blenheim Palace, Cotswold Wildlife Park & Bicester Village. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds. The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.